'So This Is What Heaven Tastes Like!' Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
These are very tasty bars! The texture is very good, but I felt that there might have been to many chocolate chips. I used dried cherries instead of maraschino, because my family doesn't care for those. I loved the crunch that the nuts gave the bars. Thanks for sharing your recipe, CookingBug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. And sent it to work with my husband. They liked it, but said things like, "there are cherries in this but you can not taste them." The same was said about the chocolate chips and nuts. Next time I will add more cherries, nuts, and chocolate chips. This also took longer than 25 mintues to bake and my oven is very accurate. I would make it again with some changes. I will add a chocolate drizzle on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made these last night with the cherries and they turned out delicious! They are very moist and decadent, my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Photo by Isa
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
These were absolutely delicious! I did have to bake theme longer than what is suggested in the recipe; but then again i used an 8x11 pan instead of the 9x13, so they were taller squares and made the removal from the pan a little difficult (they're very tender). I will try the mini muffin pan next time. I used a mixture of semi sweet and milk chocolate chunks. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These are by far the best bars I have ever tasted! I did have to keep them in the oven for 40 minutes altogether. I used 1 cup choc. chips and 1 cup white choc. chips. Put in walnuts excluded cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent, excellent. These are very buttery-tasting, soft shortbread-y bars - totally addictive. I'm not a maraschino fan, but liked the idea of cherries with the chocolate and nuts, so I used chopped dried cherries in mine - fantastic substitution if you like them. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Heavenly! Thanks, Grasshopper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly leaving out the optional ingredients. They were very tasty and all of them are gone. I baked in muffin pans as well. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I was expecting a little more cream cheese flavor. Next time I will add a little more cream cheese. This is a keeper! Update---I added about 2oz more cream cheese and they were perfect! 5 stars second time around. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My son, Carlos Jr. helped me make these and of course he got the first one out of oven and said " They were Very Very AWESOME!!!! They were just the right sweetness, very moist. I followed this recipe to the letter except for the bar part. I also used muffin pans. Next time I would like to add extra cherries.MPO:) Thank You Cooking Bug for an excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
MMM, these are delicious and Melt in your mouth. But I made these leaving out the optional ingredients because of personal preference. Now, I know these were to be made into bars. But once I know I can make a dessert into individual sizes, I usually do that. I made these in a regular muffin pan, generously greased as the recipe stated (no liners needed) and as soon as they were cooled they literally popped out of the pan, perfectly! These baked up so nicely as muffins too and I baked for 25 mins. just as the recipe stated. As I bit into one, I did feel like I was enjoying a piece of heaven! I will be making these often and want to try these as mini muffins too. Thanks for sharing your recipe CookinBug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States