'So This Is What Heaven Tastes Like!' Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Rated a 4 only because the cook time is off - it does take about 40 minutes in an accurate 350 oven. Very good but the choc. chips overpowered everything else. Will be making them again and try pecans and cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Tagle
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I originally rev'd this as 4 star BUT I'm now changing it to 5. I have made them several times and with a few changes, they are BEYOND DELICIOUS. 1. use BUTTER and NOT MARGARINE! 2. use 2c of four and NOT three 3. make sure your ingredients (eggs, butter, cr cheese) are room temp 4. make sure you don't over-cook them. 25-30 min is plenty of time and they should only be a tad brown around the edges. If you cook longer, they will be dry and NOT fabulous. Trust me. My girlfriends devoured them the other night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Everyone at work loved it. I did cook it 40 minutes instead of 25. It passed the toothpick test at 25 minutes but the top still seemed wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Yum! Everyone in my family loved these! I used dried cherries because we like those better. I will make it again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were not "bars" at all. The 3 eggs made this very dense and cakey. I was expecting more of a cheesecake flavor, but the cream cheese is hardly noticeable. The texture was heavy and thick. They also took 45 minutes to cook and was still a little raw in the middle when I removed it from the oven. I was disappointed and ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe, the bars when warm are greasy and didn't have a cream cheese flavor. I was thought is was going to be more like a cheesecake. Won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These were great! I made mine without the optional cherries. These will be a regular at my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These bake up so nice! Really yummy! I left the nuts out altogether and made an 8x8 pan with just chocolate chips (for the kids) and another 8x8 pan with chocolate chips and dried cherries. Both were good but the dried cherries really took these bars to the next level. I went a little light on the dried cherries because I wasn't sure how it would taste.. next time I will definitely add more..YUM! Brought these to two different houses of people and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I made this recipe EXACTLY as written (but didn't add the optional walnuts & cherries due to picky eaters) and it was AWESOME!!! Everyone at the bbq I went to this weekend devoured the bars; no one ate just one. If I could describe them I would say they are what you would have if blonde brownies & a cheesecake had babies - VERY GOOD & many people asked for the recipe. THANK YOU for sharing Cookinbug!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good! I agree that there is too many chocolate chips. I would probably scale it down to 1 cup. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States