'So This Is What Heaven Tastes Like!' Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These are very good in texture, but lacking in flavour infortunately, which is weird since there are 2 T of vanilla!! I am so glad I cut down on the salt to only 1/2 a tsp as 1 1/2 sounded wayyy too much. I was right, It still came out a bit salty! I did not add the nuts or cherries; only the chocolate. . It was also very light in sweetness. I was really expecting these to be amazing but unfortunately, not so heavenly. Some loved them and some said they were OK. All in all, good recipe, just not great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Skip this recipe! I followed directions exactly. The first thing I noticed was that the bars had way too many mix-ins - 2 cups chips, 1 cup nuts, etc. These bars were too chunky and had no cream cheese flavor. They tasted like a bland shortcake, and they were too doughy (almost like they weren't cooked, but they were). They did taste better chilled as previous reviewers stated, but even then they weren't great, and no one in my family liked them - and that's saying a lot, since we all have a sweet tooth. Overall, I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Um...wow. This was amazing. My whole family loved it and even our guests raved. Cream cheese is my friend, so of course I loved it too. :D The only thing I changed was to use 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of coconut oil in replace of the margarine (I NEVER use that stuff). And oh, no nuts or cherries. Not a fan. The reason why I'm giving it just 4 stars is that I think the cream cheese flavor is a bit lacking. Yes, it'll still rock your socks off but I think it could use a few extra ounces (2-3 or so) of cream cheese. The first piece I tried was a little corner piece (I snuck it outta there before dinner....shhh! Don't tell) when the bars were still warm. I was NOT impressed. It was cakey and bland tasting. So I tried a middle piece. Much better. But it was kinda gooey and still bland tasting (like warm cheesecake). So I refrigerated it and let me tell you, they are WAY better cold! Dense, rich and creamy. So do yourself a favor and refrigerate these before serving. ;) And just one more thing: make this like you would cheese cake. Eggs, cream cheese and butter/coconut oil all at room temp and mix just until incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were good, but not great. I agree with some other reviews about them being a little dense and cakey, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dondra108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
A new favorite treat for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
UPDATE: WELL.... ALTHOUGH I AM STILL NOT A FAN, I MUST SAY THAT THESE TASTE A BIT BETTER THE NEXT DAY. THEY MAY EVEN FARE WELL IN THE FRIDGE (I SUGGEST TRYING THIS). OK. I hate sooooo much to be the downer here, but these just didn't float my boat - AT ALL!!! There's nothing wrong with this recipe, I just didn't like it (much like for anyone, there are some things they like and some things they don't). For me, these weren't nearly sweet enough (and I am not a sweet toooth!). I could barely taste the cherries (kinda a waste, IMHO), I could ONLY taste cream cheese (not a good thing here...) and the texture was kinda wierd, even after completely cooled. I had planned on bringing a plate of treats to the office tomorrow (my boss and a new team member are coming to town for some training). I don't think I will now.... I'm not even impressed enough to share these with others (anything that leaves my kitchen MUST have my seal of approval lol). Too bad. These would be a nice Valentine's treat (which is one of the reasons I was drawn to the recipe to begin with... amongst the RAVING reviews). Looking forward to other recipes CookingBug. I know you must have plenty even if this one was a thumbs down for me! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
First thing my husband said was, "Oh wow!" I did add the extra 2oz. of cream cheese and left out the optionals. I think they are wonderful! My kids love them too :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susieq

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Heaven? Maybe more like the stairway to heaven. The problem is it's neither here nor there - not a cake, but not a cheesecake either. Maybe by adding that extra 2 oz of cream cheese as others suggested it would get a better consistency and flavor. I ended up using 1 cup semi-sweet chips and 1 cup white chips and using frozen (thawed) dark cherries. Baked in a 9x13 as directed, I started checking it early. The sides browned and started pulling away from the edge but the center was still raw. It ended up baking for 33 minutes to get the center baked and the edges turned out dry. It wasn't a total flop but there are too many other desserts out there to make this one again. ~UPDATE~ So maybe I was a little harsh... it gets better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two. But it still needs some extra cream cheese... or SOMETHING...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were great!! But not outstanding (couldn't give it 5 stars). I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made them and we thoroughly enjoyed them. For out annual chrismas party I gave them a little twist - I left out the nuts, used white chips with red and green cherries. Very festive looking. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Twins4Us
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
My family loved these! However it took 45 minutes for them to bake. I used real butter and opted to not add cherries. I also decided to keep these bars in the frige after cooling, which made them much better. They were moist, rich, and not too sweet. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twins4Us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States