Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
When I started making these, I was wondering how such a simple batter could turn into such wonderful cookies.. but OH MY GOODNESS these are soooo tasty! As others had said, I put my batter (already balled up on the cookie sheets) into the fridge before baking, and all but 2 cake out perfectly round. I used walnuts (as that was what I had) and they seemed to do the job. Also, I only waited about 5 minutes before rolling in the sugar, and that seemed to be fine as well. I'm anxious to see if they taste as good cooled as they do warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
PLEASE NOTE! I've already reviewed this recipe once. It's fabulous but a few changes make it even better. Leave the recipe alone...It's perfect. Roll the cookies smaller than you think you should. The recipe says it makes 48...I can get 110 out of it. They turn out so much better the smaller they are. I also toast the pecans before I put them into the cookie. Also, roll the cookies in powdered sugar right when they come out of the oven and then roll them again. The first coating gets kind of sticky and then the second coating makes them perfect. Make these cookies...you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Absolutly Delicious! After reading previous reviews I put the cookies in the refrigerator before I baked them. They held their shape well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Is it possible that folks are experiencing trouble because of the white sugar? I have made snowballs, aka Mexican Wedding Cakes, aka Swedish Tea Cakes for as long as I can remember and have always used powdered sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I make these every year for Christmas. They are easy, delicious, and make great presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I had three relatives come up to me ans ask for this recipe, only they called them different names. Mexican wedding cakes & Russian tea cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I cant stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These came out mounds, not balls. Also did not taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe is awesome! I think the reason why some people's came out flattened is they might have worked with the dough too much OR their kitchen was too hot. If it is too hot inside your kitchen things tend to react differently. AND if you kept working with the dough your hands may have congealed the butter more and made it more liquid within the cookie. If it's hot in your kitchen and you are working with things like this, it's best to keep the dough in the fridge and take out little bits to roll while you make them. Hope this makes sense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Instead of balls they turned out into pancakes. Too much butter in the recipe I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States