Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe is awesome! I think the reason why some people's came out flattened is they might have worked with the dough too much OR their kitchen was too hot. If it is too hot inside your kitchen things tend to react differently. AND if you kept working with the dough your hands may have congealed the butter more and made it more liquid within the cookie. If it's hot in your kitchen and you are working with things like this, it's best to keep the dough in the fridge and take out little bits to roll while you make them. Hope this makes sense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I love snowballs, but didn't have my recipe. I used this one instead because I was short on powedered sugar and this didn't use any in the dough. They were not like what I've made before at all. The cookies flattened out in the baking so that they weren't balls at all and they were too salty. If you do make these, I reccomend rolling them in sugar twice: once when they're hot out of the oven and again after they've cooled. The first layer gets rather pasty from the heat, but soaks into the cookies very well. The second layer sticks to the outside for a nice look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
My family loved these cookies. They came out just like I hoped. Sifting the flour was a great idea. I did overcook the first batch because I kept waiting for them to get a little brown and they never did. The secret is to check the bottom and see if that has become slightly brown. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Is it possible that folks are experiencing trouble because of the white sugar? I have made snowballs, aka Mexican Wedding Cakes, aka Swedish Tea Cakes for as long as I can remember and have always used powdered sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Yum, this recipe was great! You just might want to adjust the cooking time. I found if you followed the recipe cook time the cookies were quite overdone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
PLEASE NOTE! I've already reviewed this recipe once. It's fabulous but a few changes make it even better. Leave the recipe alone...It's perfect. Roll the cookies smaller than you think you should. The recipe says it makes 48...I can get 110 out of it. They turn out so much better the smaller they are. I also toast the pecans before I put them into the cookie. Also, roll the cookies in powdered sugar right when they come out of the oven and then roll them again. The first coating gets kind of sticky and then the second coating makes them perfect. Make these cookies...you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I USED THIS RECIPE FOR THE FIRST TIME LAST YEAR. EVERYONE LOVED IT . I AM DEFINITLY GOING TO USE IT AGAIN. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, however, as written it's problematic. Here's the low down I got from my sister who bakes all the time. First off, the dough absolutely needs to be chilled prior to baking. Second, the oven temperature should be 350. I tried this, and the balls were perfect. Lastly, use unsalted butter when baking with a recipe that calls for salt. Using 3/4 teaspoons of salt and salted butter will make the cookies too salty. This same dough can be used to make crescents, or if you don't mind them spreading, they make a very tasty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlantaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I have made these a couple times referencing the other similar recipes on the site as well and to turn this into a 5 star recipe I just changed the sugar to 1 cup confectioners sugar, I find it makes for a more delicate treat. I also roll them in the confectioners sugar both while hot and again 15 minutes later while cool. I sometimes use walnuts or almonds instead of pecans, just depends on what I have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I have made this recipe for over 40 yars. We call it Russian Teacakes, the Russian friend of my mother made them every year and I do now. In fact I am making 2 batches today for a dinner tonight. The problem you are all having IS in the sugar. It has to be confectioners sugar to et the light and fluffy taste and texture. When you bite into these cookies they should fall apart in your mouth. I also use walnuts that are a bit more solid, although I love pecans. I also use more flour 2 1/4 cup and less salt 1/4 tsp. this also may be your problem. Do try these they have always been a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States