Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Just like Mom's! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My dough was a little dry and they wouldn't take form. I added some water to the mix and they were perfect. My mistake was perhaps melting the butter and then mixing it with the sugar. I don't know what went wrong with the dough, but howerver they were a success. I love the taste of them and will share my batch with my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, however, as written it's problematic. Here's the low down I got from my sister who bakes all the time. First off, the dough absolutely needs to be chilled prior to baking. Second, the oven temperature should be 350. I tried this, and the balls were perfect. Lastly, use unsalted butter when baking with a recipe that calls for salt. Using 3/4 teaspoons of salt and salted butter will make the cookies too salty. This same dough can be used to make crescents, or if you don't mind them spreading, they make a very tasty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlantaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made these twice with two variations. the first time was with walnuts....while the second time was with cashewnuts....and i must say both were really good....different yeas, but good! it took me about 23 minutes to bake. and rolling once in confectioners sugar while warm is important. and roll again once cool. i didn't use any other extract other than vanilla, and i used regular white sugar and not powdered sugar as some people suggested, and it turned perfectly alright! absolutely 'melt in your mouth'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have been making snowballs at xmas time for years - using by best friend's mom's recipe!! This year I could not find that one so tried this one. The balls turned out fantastic. My issue is always I make them too big so there never is enough to go around. These turned out lovely - nice and crispy with just a hint of chewiness - I added extra vanilla bean extract as I love that flavour. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These. Are. Rockin'! I think that those who had trouble used granulated sugar, when it makes more sense and is easier when you use powdered sugar. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Very good and very easy recipe. I use a small ice cream scoop to make them faster and uniform. You must chill the dough in order to keep the ball shape, but worst case, they flatten a little and are still delish! Let cool a bit before rolling in powdered sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I have made this recipe for over 40 yars. We call it Russian Teacakes, the Russian friend of my mother made them every year and I do now. In fact I am making 2 batches today for a dinner tonight. The problem you are all having IS in the sugar. It has to be confectioners sugar to et the light and fluffy taste and texture. When you bite into these cookies they should fall apart in your mouth. I also use walnuts that are a bit more solid, although I love pecans. I also use more flour 2 1/4 cup and less salt 1/4 tsp. this also may be your problem. Do try these they have always been a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made these cookies while visiting my mother one day. My mother-in-law makes them for the holidays ever year and includes them in her "treat basket". So I was pleasantly surprised when she liked my cookies from an updated version of her old recipe. Make sure you let them cool a bit before rolling them in powdered sugar. I learned after the first time the cookies were too hot so the sugar melted and didn't leave a powdered layer. Will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vannessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Always a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States