Snowballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These are one of my all time favorite cookie and this recipe is the best. The only thing I would add is to let the dough rest in the refrigerator for a half hour before forming into balls. This helps the cookies from tasting like flour and keeps the balls rounded because they are chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've been making this for years (it's in the old version of the Betty Crocker cookbook - from the early 70's and probably earlier) My aunt would make these when I was girl and shape into crescents -- I make them like the recipe calls for (balls) and often use Walnuts (cheaper)! Even though these don't spread - DON'T crowd the cookie sheet - if you do they won't bake right - (dry or undercooked) ... follow this exactly and you will have a melt-in-your-mouth morsel of yummy! Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My husband requested 1 cookie this year for Christmas and it was these. I had never made them before, but found this recipe, and boy was he happy. I got so many compliments. I am not a huge cookie lover, but fresh out of the oven these are delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, with no candy cane, my husband hates mint. Real butter is a must, I used salted butter, but I am not sure if that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My kids asked for more, i made them for my Xmas fiesta, and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
tasted great, even tried it with the candy canes, they were different but good. When I made them according to the recipe it only made about 40 cookies though not 5 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I dipped in melted white and dark chocolate, drizzling the opposite cholcolate to trim. Placed them in foil cuplets. Not only beautiful, they were lovely, melt-in-your mouth shortbread treats for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
best i have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crytsal Ma
Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe definitely needs more vanilla; I soak the nuts on vanilla a bit before adding them. I saw some comments about the cookies being hard or dry, this might be because the butter is not at room temperature or not well creamed, the butter needs to look like mayonnaise before adding the rest of the ingredients; if the butter is runny or semi melted the cookies turn out hard, on the other hand if the butter is cold or firm the cookies crumble and turn out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
My son said these were the best cookie he's ever had. High praise indeed from our cookie monster!! Adjusted the recipe to make two batches and came out with just over sixty cookies, so keep that in mind when serving to others. One is never enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious! Made a batch with pecans and a batch with almonds, totally preferred the almonds so I will do this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States