Snowball Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
There is a similar recipe on here (Honey Walnut Shrimp) that I prefer but doesn't have some of the ingredients from this one, like broccoli or vanilla extract. This is good, but a little messy to do the candied/fried walnuts. I will likely combine the two recipes and make it just the way my family will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was not a fan... the mayo was too strong. I made it thinking it would turn out like the "milky chicken" that my chinese food restaurant serves, but it just tasted like mayo with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
tastes just like the one you get at the resteront. changed the crackers to panko and the cut the sweet and condessed milk in half but soooooooooooooooo good!!! and all of the people that said it was too hard or two sweet or made a mess boo hoo grow up this s soooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's Cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is one of my favorite “novelty” Chinese dishes. Even though it’s labeled a shrimp dish, the main ingredient is actually broccoli and it’s served in a sweet rich cream sauce. If I could, I would give this sauce 10 stars, but as for the rest of the recipe, it’s obvious there is something wrong. (A publishing error, maybe?) I can’t imagine 16oz of shrimp and only 1 cup of broccoli making enough to serve 8 people, yet there is enough sauce to cover everything 10x over. The sauce should coat, not drown everything. So, I pretty much followed the recipe exact, but used 8 cups of broccoli. I did the shrimp a little different by butterflying them and using flour instead of cracker crumbs. For anyone new to this dish, I recommend you add the sauce last and only add what your taste buds will allow. It is sweet and can quickly take over if you add too much. If you’re really unsure about putting time and money into a recipe you might not like, I suggest you start with the sauce. Cut the recipe in half and try it over broccoli. If you like it, then go the extra mile and add the shrimp and walnuts. If you don’t like it, make some magic bars, banana pudding, or something out of the can of left over sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
WAY TOO SWEET!! OMG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Way too much work. The kitchen was a mess when I was done from frying, draining, mixing, steaming. Frying oil on the stovetop, cracker crumbs on the counter, honey dripped all over. Used a lot of spoons, bowls, pots, saucepans, papertowels. Taste was too sweet for our liking. My husband picked out the walnuts. I was left with a lot of cleaning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I just made this for some friends. I tried to make it exactly like the recipe calls for and when it was served it looked amazing. Tough thing was it was too sweet. It was too rich for our blood and we all wound up pushing it around on the plate. Wish I could give a better review cause I spent a good two hours getting everything ready and putting it together. If you do decide to make it, scale back the condensed milk and it may come out more balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this because it looked like a similar recipe to something that I used to order at my favorite Chinese place back home. It tasted exactly like it. The ingredient combo sounds weird but it tasted delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States