Snowball Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Cake was met with raves! I made the frosting recipe* & put on the coconut on the night before serving. Love a cake to mellow overnight. Not only I find it more flavorful & more homemade flavor! The only thing different: *I used in the frosting 3/4 cup milk. I love this frosting & use it all the time but find 1 cup milk is too much milk. This is a great frosting for any cake (without the coconut) for a chocolate mousse frosting using chocolate pudding or a lemon frosting too, using instant lemon pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This recipe should have a disclaimer: LET COOL COMPLETELY BEFORE FLIPPING OUT OF BOWL. With that said, it was a goopy mess because I rushed it. Better yet, stick it in the fridge over night before flipping. Also, I did as another user suggested and used white chocolate pudding mix for the icing part of the recipe, and it tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I make it in a clean bowl too. I like to pour the cream cheese mix in first, then pour the devil's food over it. That way, the layers are clearly separate. Color the coconut green (3 tbs milk and 3 drops green coloring) to make an Easter cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Loved it and the kids did more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This cake was soo yummy. Nice and moist. It popped right out. I didnt have a one large bowl so i split it into 2 smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Cute cake, loved the icing. Be sure cake is all the way cooled. Mine was a bit warm and the icing thinned and slid down the sides a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBABIEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Super moist and delicious. Everyone raved. I used real whipped cream instead of cool whip. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmarie54
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a beautiful cake I served at an office potluck during the holidays by adding sliced spearmint candy and cinnamon candies to make holly decorations on it. My family doesn't like coconut so for Christmas dinner I made a white cake and used pistachio pudding for the frosting and it was a big hit. This would be a great year round recipe decorated by whatever holiday you are serving it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmarie54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cold Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I only gave it 4 stars because the edge of the cake got hard waiting for the middle to get done. And if you want a truly white snowball. DO NOT use vanilla it turns it pale yellow. Next time I will try white chocolate pudding. Worked great with fat free cool whip and 1/3 less fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is a real show-off! Delicious and not difficult. Sorry, Cool Whip, but I made my own whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States