Snow on the Mountain II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I had Snow on the Mountain at a church ladies party right after Thanksgiving (using leftover turkey). I thought "What a strange ingredient list!". BUT IT IS NOW ONE OF MY FAVORITE RECIPES and I have served it twice since I found this recipe. Everybody loves it and comes back for seconds. Try it and you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I was very scared to make this dish but I was feeling brave. My boyfriend asked me to find this dish because he said it was something his grandma used to make (before she passed) for special occassions when he was younger. I've never heard of this before, there were few reviews, and the combo of ingrediants got me worried but I really wanted to surprise my boyfriend. I reduced the pineapple ALOT and didn't use any coconut. When he came home and saw this dish on the dinner table, he was very happy. The taste is nothing like I've ever had before but it was very good and my boyfriend said it was just like his grandma's, which I'll accept as a huge compliment! Thank you Nancy - for teaching me something new and providing me another way to make my bofriend really happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I really liked this recipe, but my family wasn't that thrilled with the strange combination of foods...the flavors go well together even though they are so different...it is a 'fresh' tasting asian style flavor without being stir fried..really easy and quick to put together...the recipe calls for too much of the sauce I think, so next time I will cut that part iin half. I left out the pimentos and it was good without it, but the saltiness of the pimentos would probably be good too! Over all i really liked it and loved how quick it was put together. I will make it again, but likely not with my kids around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I have made this recipe a few times. My daughter-in-law has her own gravy recipe she uses. It is always a hit with us, but we put all the ingredients that we want in seperate bowls. Like a smorgasboard. You can use the rice as a base and pile on the toppings you like. That way everyone is happy. Great for company too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
quick, and easy...i will use this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misha
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
You wouldn't think that all these interesting flavors would mix together so well, but they do and the product is very good! Also very easy; most everything is bought in the can and ready to serve, and the other ingredients just require chopping. After layering all the ingredients, eat RIGHT AWAY-otherwise the chinese noodles get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
We make this without the gravy or pineapple. Instead we cube 4 cups cooked chicken and heat it in 3/4 cup Italian dressing and instead of pineapple, we use chopped pickles. We don't use pimento. Everything else is the same, though and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I was a little hesitant to fixed this one, but I am glad I did. Each bite is different and unique. Really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I make this in the crock pot for super easy preparation and EVERYONE LOVES IT. It's just really hard to get them to try it. In the crock pot I dump the following: frozen chicken 2 cans cream of chicken soup 1 can chicken broth and let it cook all day while I'm at work. The chicken shreds itself nicely. Then I make white rice in my rice cooker ($10 from target). Then let everyone add pineapple chunks, cheddar cheese, chopped celery, and chow mein noodles. Its Fantastic and SUPER EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
We substituted the green peppers for greeen and black olives. Always a big hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States