Snow-Topped Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I have made these twice in a week and everybody LOVES them!! I added a tablespoon of peppermint extract to the (semisweet, not mint) chocolate chips before melting them and then about that again to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I generally love cooking and baking but I did NOT enjoy making these. Even after chilling the dough for a few hours and rolling the dough balls quickly, the dough is so rich with chocolate chips that I had to wash my hands frequently as they coated with melted dough. (Using wet hands helped somewhat) I never did like gooey hands, so for this reason alone I know this is the first and last time I’ll make this recipe. Rolling out 52 messy chocolate cookie balls was not my idea of a good time. Having said that, at least the result was worth the effort – I guess. They’re kind of petite cookies and until I tried one I thought they really should be bigger. But they are so rich, so minty and chocolatey and almost fudgy, that a little cookie goes a long way. If you like chocolate covered peppermint patties these might be right up your alley. I personally wasn’t crazy about them, however, as I found them almost TOO rich. Edit 6/29: I have elevated my rating from three stars to four after Hubs report that the cookies were a hit at the office and rated five stars by all! My amended four-star rating reflects the average between our two reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious!! be sure to bake for no less then 10 min or else you will have soggy cookies on your hands. also i made some with and without powdered sugar and I would definitely roll them in the sugar because it really adds a good delicate taste to complement the mint. A hit with everyone!! Thanks Arlene:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I recently had Panera's Chocolate Mint Cringle....ABSOLUTELY amazing. So I had to find a recipe to recreate them. I thought this recipe might be the closest. It started off fine & I followed the recipe to the T except instead of only melting 1 cup of the mint chips, I melted the whole package (a little more than 1 cup). This may have been my downfall! My first batch all gooed up together & ended up in the trash...but my 4th & last batch turned out the best. Go figure :) They might not have tasted just like Panera's, but I'll just have to adjust the recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were a huge hit at my holiday party. I didn't have the mint chocolate chips so I used 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of Andes mints crushed up. The only problem I have is that I rolled them in confectioner's sugar but they didn't come out as snowed topped as the picture. Because the cookie spread out, my snow was sporadic. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Love these! Made some modifications, that really made these a fan favorite: For the second half of chips, used Milk Chocolate & Semi-Sweet combo (and doubled amount). Cooked 8 minutes, then turned them into various thumbprint (or kiss) cookies, but adding various flavors of Chocolate Kisses. For one variety, I used the white peppermint Christmas chews (the kind with the Christmas Tree in center) and added Mint extract to the batter. After adding your kiss; chocolate; or candy, put back in oven for additional 2 minutes. I made four varieties for a Holiday Party and they were a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are awesome. I used the Andes mint chips, and added some cocoa powder and mint extract to the recipe to make even more chocolately/minty. Great to make with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These are so so so good! Chewy and not too minty. I used those Andes mint pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I make these cookies all of the time.... absolutely loved by everyone! Makes a great cookie with any choice of chips as well (Incase you dont have mint chips on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Momma
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Ok, so I'm going to tell the truth on this review...I screwed up. I followed the recipe to the "T" as far as ingredients, but messed up the steps. I ended up with an ooey-gooey mess. Baked them up anyway and what do ya know...DELICIOUS!!! My young daughters (ages 2 and 1) LOVED them. Big hit even though I messed it up. Will make again for sure! **I didn't add confectioner's sugar either**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Momma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States