Snow Peas with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Used toasted sesame seeds and, because I don't care for mint, substituted with fresh cilantro instead. Light and refreshing recipe, thanks!! Note: If you sub with cilantro add it at the end when/if you season with salt and pepper because cilantro doesn't stand up to cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had about 1/2 lb. of snow pea pods that a friend grew in her garden. I sauteed them in sesame oil as directed. When I looked for the water chestnuts - they were not there. Oh well, this would have been 5 star had I added them. I used 1 T. sesame seeds and that was plenty. The seasoning I used was the pepper/garlic and sea salt/garlic grinders. I was pretty light on the fresh mint and will add more next time. It looked really pretty on my plate. A little light soy sauce made it a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
We couldn't really taste the mint. Prehaps fresh mint rather than dried would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My husband loved this, and I ended up liking it, but it had to grow on me. It was fast and easy to make, a big plus. I used half olive and half sesame oil. I think my water chestnuts weren’t the best quality, a little soft. Next time I'll also try toasting the sesame seeds. The mint added a great flavor. All in all a very good recipe. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a easy, tasty way to prepare snow peas! I didn't have any sesame seeds, so I used sesame oil instead of olive oil. This boosted the sesame flavor. The mint seemed a little strange to me, but it really didn't taste that bad in the end! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Sorry but I didn't care much for this one. I think too much sesame flavor. I did like the mint, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe is a great way to jazz up a side dish. My husband and I really liked the combined flavors of all the ingreadients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakinggardens

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FITFreshNY
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very simple, and actually pretty elegant for something you can whip up in less than 20 min. I omitted the mint, because it just didn't suit my taste buds tonight, and I added almonds and oregano for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I had snow peas on hand that I didn't know what to do with - Now I do! This is an excellent recipe and so quick! My husband loved it! Water chestnuts just makes this dish and the sauce was fabulous. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States