Snow Peas with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I had snow peas on hand that I didn't know what to do with - Now I do! This is an excellent recipe and so quick! My husband loved it! Water chestnuts just makes this dish and the sauce was fabulous. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FITFreshNY
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very simple, and actually pretty elegant for something you can whip up in less than 20 min. I omitted the mint, because it just didn't suit my taste buds tonight, and I added almonds and oregano for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe is a great way to jazz up a side dish. My husband and I really liked the combined flavors of all the ingreadients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKINGGARDENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Sorry but I didn't care much for this one. I think too much sesame flavor. I did like the mint, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a easy, tasty way to prepare snow peas! I didn't have any sesame seeds, so I used sesame oil instead of olive oil. This boosted the sesame flavor. The mint seemed a little strange to me, but it really didn't taste that bad in the end! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My husband loved this, and I ended up liking it, but it had to grow on me. It was fast and easy to make, a big plus. I used half olive and half sesame oil. I think my water chestnuts weren’t the best quality, a little soft. Next time I'll also try toasting the sesame seeds. The mint added a great flavor. All in all a very good recipe. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
We couldn't really taste the mint. Prehaps fresh mint rather than dried would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had about 1/2 lb. of snow pea pods that a friend grew in her garden. I sauteed them in sesame oil as directed. When I looked for the water chestnuts - they were not there. Oh well, this would have been 5 star had I added them. I used 1 T. sesame seeds and that was plenty. The seasoning I used was the pepper/garlic and sea salt/garlic grinders. I was pretty light on the fresh mint and will add more next time. It looked really pretty on my plate. A little light soy sauce made it a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States