Snow Pea and Napa Cabbage Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe. I did change the dressing a little bit. I used 1 1/2 T sesame oil and 1 1/2 T oilve oil and used about 3 T of rice vinegar and about a 1/2T of celery seeds. I mixed the dressing before I added it to the slaw mix. Awesome flavor and so very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I added a little soy sauce, and some red peppers for color its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I was looking for a low fat version of the traditional Asian salad w/ Ramen noodles and this is it! I only used 3/4 lb cabbage, 1 shredded carrot, etc.; I increased the amount of rice wine vinegar to 3 T while keeping the lemon juice and olive oil the same. I will probably add toasted almonds to make it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Excellent recipe. The snow peas really make this slaw stand out. I did use more lemon juice and vingar for a bit of extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I doubled this recipe for a luau. It was a smash hit! I love snow peas. dpsjes@bellsouth.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious use of fresh vegetables. I made a half batch with the dressing as written and it would rate it a 3-star. Good, but lacking a little zip. With the other half I used "Maui Onion Dressing" from this site. We then would give this a 5-star rating. I will be making this again as it was well received with the group I shared it with. Thanks Barrett for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I used regular peas as I did not have snow pea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very good. I agree that the dressing needed something. I substituted one of the Tbsp of oil with sesame oil and added a Tbsp soy sauce and 1-2 Tbsp sugar. I also added some fresh chopped cilantro and used red instead of green pepper. Very good! Great to take to a picnic - no mayonnaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Like the veggie combo (subbed red bell for green), but I had to improvise a dressing at the last minute. Did not care for the tartness of the dressing, and I will not make it again. Sorry, this was a miss for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I agree that this is a wonderful lower fat version of the typical Asian slaw that uses ramen noodles. I also agree that the dressing was a little bland though, so, as others suggested, I increased the rice wine vinegar to 3 tbsp. and the lemon juice to 2 tbsp. The colors in this slaw are very eye-appealing too, though I would recommend using a red or orange bell pepper instead of a green bell pepper to kick up the color and for the sweeter taste. I absolutely LOVED the crunch of this salad. It was a wonderful side dish to the Chinese-Style Cheeseburgers on this website. I meant to top this with slivered almonds as others suggested, but I totally forgot and will add that the next time I try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States