Snow Pea and Napa Cabbage Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Excellent recipe. The snow peas really make this slaw stand out. I did use more lemon juice and vingar for a bit of extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I doubled this recipe for a luau. It was a smash hit! I love snow peas. dpsjes@bellsouth.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I was looking for a low fat version of the traditional Asian salad w/ Ramen noodles and this is it! I only used 3/4 lb cabbage, 1 shredded carrot, etc.; I increased the amount of rice wine vinegar to 3 T while keeping the lemon juice and olive oil the same. I will probably add toasted almonds to make it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I thought that the dressing for this salad was pretty boring. I added approximately 4T of the rice vinegar, more lemon juice, and around a tsp. of soy sauce. That helped alot! I also sprinkled toasted slived almonds on top when it was served. I also used sweet red peppers instead of the green. Along with the carrots, it was a beautiful salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Easy to prepare but I had to add a lot of things to the dressing to liven it up including sugar. Didn't like it enough to bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The dressing was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I agree that this is a wonderful lower fat version of the typical Asian slaw that uses ramen noodles. I also agree that the dressing was a little bland though, so, as others suggested, I increased the rice wine vinegar to 3 tbsp. and the lemon juice to 2 tbsp. The colors in this slaw are very eye-appealing too, though I would recommend using a red or orange bell pepper instead of a green bell pepper to kick up the color and for the sweeter taste. I absolutely LOVED the crunch of this salad. It was a wonderful side dish to the Chinese-Style Cheeseburgers on this website. I meant to top this with slivered almonds as others suggested, but I totally forgot and will add that the next time I try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved the combination. I also added more rice vinegar and lemon juice, and a little bit of spenda to cut the tang a little. Will try the soya sauce idea next time. Very good - enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I agree that the dressing is very bland. I ended up adding about a tsp of sesame oil, some more lemon juice and a little sugar. I also threw in some red bell pepper for more color. Pretty good. I'd make it again with a couple more tweaks. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I added a little soy sauce, and some red peppers for color its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States