Snow Ice Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wow, I guess I thought my family was the only ones who really made this! Most people you know have never heard of it. When I went to put it in my recipe book, I googled it-dang! We would not have been able to wait for snow to fill up a gallon though! We would just go out, after a few inches of freshly fallen snow, and use the largest bowl we could find and heap it full of clean snow. We used evaporated milk (unless all we had was regular milk) and sometimes half evaporated milk and half regular. Sometimes we didn't have vanilla and it's good without it too. We never premixed ingredients-we loved the crunchiness of the granulated sugar-well, what kid doesn't?! Just sprinkle sugar across top (about 1/4 to 1/2 cup), add vanilla (we did 1/2 to 1 tsp per large bowl), and stir in milk to get the consistency you want! Never tried to change it up-it was perfect the way it is! Very sweet, very rich! Grab a bowl and a warm blanket and enjoy! You can try this in a small bowl first-just a dash of sugar, vanilla, and milk to see if you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Schumacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
What an adorable and creative idea! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My kids and I LOVED this recipe! The key is to watch how much milk you put in so it is not too wet. Mine appeared to be pretty dry still, but as you stir all the ingredients up and it begins to melt a bit, it works out perfectly. I also used Superfine sugar (you can find that in the baking aisle in a box) because some reviewers mentioned the texture of the sugar made it gritty. We will definitely be making this again the next time it snows. New family tradition for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made a lot less of it (hubby didn't want to try it and it was only me), so I added the ingredients little by little to about a cup of snow, watching the consistency and sweetness. Was surprisingly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I use cream in my snow cream and had to add more sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
As I don't live on the East Coast, we didn't have access to the freshest snow this winter. We used some from out back of the house that was a little yellow, from what, we don't know. Anyway, it had a little extra zesty flavor to it that we haven't tasted before and didn't anticipate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My family tried this for the first time today. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar with 1TBS of vanilla and the snow cream was still very sweet. I wish I had some coconut and rum, as suggested by Jonine, another rater, and condensed milk. The coconut and condensed milk would add more texture. The current recipe is too icey and melts really fast. It was fun trying this with my family, and we look forward to trying variations of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
We don't get snow often in the South but when we do I make this recipe. The kids love it and it's fun and easy for them to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Lots of snow today so we made snow cream. Yummy & lots of fun for the kids. We made as directed and again with chocolate milk. Thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States