Snow Ice Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I am so confused by the people that said the sugar wouldn't dissolve. You should've mixed the sugar, milk, and vanilla in a separate bowl before combining it with the snow and then there is no problem. Also for those that add egg just be careful since you are consuming a raw egg. This is the exact same recipe my Mother used when I was growing up and my brother and I loved making it. It's not suppose to be the best tasting ice cream in the world, it is just fun. So loosen up and enjoy some time with your kiddos and make snow ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very good! I mix the milk, sugar and vanilla together and pour over the snow and then stir. The kids love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
the kids like it. we put in french vanilla coffee creamer and they liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I loved making this with the kids tonight! This isn't a gourmet ice cream, this is definitely about having some winter time fun with the kids! And they loved it too! My only thought for next time is to warm the milk a bit to fully dissolve the sugar, and then re-chill the milk/sugar mixture. I think that may help the gritty texture from the cane sugar while eating the "ice cream".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Joslyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Port Gibson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
i love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
yum! I love snow cream. We most certainly had it in VA where I grew up, my mom made it all the time and we couldn't wait for snow so we could have it! Of course now I live in San Diego, so I guess snow cream is out, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I've made snow ice cream with my girls for years. We only make it when there's a "quiet snow". This usually happens at night. The snow is very light and fluffy and clean. I beat 1 c. milk, 1/2 c. sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla & 1 egg in a large bowl, then add snow until it's all absorbed. Needs to be eaten immediately. The egg makes it taste more like homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Love it! I made this with my dad every winter as a kid, now I'm making it with my kids along with some great memories. Thank you!! For those who had issues with undisolved sugar; mix it in the milk first then add to the snow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made it last night for the first time and I think this will become a fun tradition in my house! I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup whole milk. Also, I mixed the milk, sugar, and vanilla together before adding the snow. It was great and more importantly fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL!! This is better than store bought ice cream and very easy to make! My friend and I ate tons and never wanted to stop... love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States