Snow Ice Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I grew up eating snow ice cram, but my mom used evaporated milk that she froze slightly. I think it tastes so much better. This is not like store bought ice cream. Why would anyone expect it to be? This is a family thing that parents can do with their children. Kids love watching it be made and eating it! lol. I definitely would not use eggs, well I guess you can if you don't mind some salmonella ice cream, Eww.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rawlings, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was good. I made chocolate milk to pour in instead of regular, and it made chocolate ice cream. It was more like a snow slushie because it melted a bit. But overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It was OK, but a little to sweet for my family. Also, if you want it to taste like chocolate, you can put in a few spoonfuls of hot-coco powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enna Miklos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Just what I was looking for! The recipe we used when I was little had eggs, but I didn't want to get that complicated now. Be fexible on the amount of snow, and just until its the texture you want. IF you add too much, add a little milk. Very easy to adjust, and tasted just like homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calebsmom
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
So much yummy fun!! Making memories today.. We did this ice cream and snow cones too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This recipe is awesome. I remember it as a child as well. My Nana or Aunt would put a big bowl outside during the first snow of the year in NYC, when the bowl was full we'd celebrate with Snowcream. :) (we add double the vanilla though-- and a dash of cinammon-- my Dad liked a half cup of italian espresso added)-- one hint? Use a stainless steel mixing bowl. It won't melt while preparing it. And use an actual GALLON of snow-- or yes, the vanilla will be too powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJeanettic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Made this for my kiddo's today...they loved it:)) I hadn't had snow ice cream since I was a kid! Made for a fun afternoon:) I used sugar in the raw and 1/2 & 1/2. They topped it with crushed peanut butter m&m's. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My kids loved it! I dissolved the sugar in the milk & added the vanilla before mixing with the snow. This worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
We love it!!! I made it today (we got 8.5 inches of snow) for my sick baby girl's throat and she loved it. I was able to make it allergy free, which is the best. used soy milk, already had vanilla, and it was prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wow, way too much vanilla. Very overpowering to all that tried it. Next time I will only use a teaspoon and see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kasprowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States