Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The house smelt beautiful when these were baking. Used limd zest instead of orange because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
These definitely had a great flavor, but I would add more orange zest and more cinnamon next time. At about 2 and 1/4 cups of flour, the dough seemed perfect, so I didn't add the other 1/4 suggested. That would have made it too dry, in my humble opinion. They came out beautifully from the cookie press- very easily and not messy. Also, just a note, I didn't have anything but margarine, so I figured I would use that (not the shortening). Dough and flavor did not suffer with that substitution. All butter and/or margarine can be used in this recipe. 11 minutes was perfect in my oven, but check them after 10. I like my cookies a little under-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe worked great in the cookie press and the orange peel and cinnamon really put the flavor over the top. I used butter instead of shortening. These were the holiday cookies that disappeared the quickest this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was a great recipe! Didn't have butter flavored crisco so I use 1/2 cup crisco and 1/2 cup butter. Turned out quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have been making these for the past few Christmas's. We love them. I substitute butter for the shortening. After cooling, I melt white chocolate and milk chocolate for dipping some of the cookies half-way for a fancier look and taste. Adding sprinkles, crushed peppermint, or drizzling the opposite choc. over them adds even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe just as written, the cookie batter would not come out of my cookie shooter very well and they did not cook right. I had to leave them in longer than I wanted because they would not come off the cookie sheets because the cookie was so soft, like it was not done. They tasted good the same day I made them, the next day they were hard and not soft at all. I will go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Extremely easy to make and delicious! I doubled the recipe (and used butter, I saw too late it was shortening :)) and we know have lots of small cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My favorite spritz cookie recipe!! I make them every year. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are yummy! I didn't have butter flavored shortening so I use 1/2 regular shortening and 1/2 real butter. Turned out great. I also glazed the tops. I did find that I preferred baking them for 8-9 minutes instead of the 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willcox, Arizona, USA
Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mwade
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
The only change I made was adding the zest of an entire orange. THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. I haven't made any spritz cookies because I consider them to be a boring cookie, lol. This recipe intrigued me with the addition of cream cheese, orange zest and cinnamon. It didn't disappoint! The dough worked perfectly in my cookie press. I was using a Martha Stewart press I got for Christmas last year. This batch made almost 9 dozen cookies! I decorated them with sanding sugars, but I have even bigger plans for the next batch. I'm going to make an orange glaze and apply after baking. You could still add sugars for whatever holiday! I plan on adding this recipe to my cookie baking arsenal! It's a winner! My house smells a-m-a-z-i-n-g right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States