Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
These is the BEST spritz cookie dough I have ever made! It is the perfect consistency for easy "spritzing"...not too sticky, not too dry. And the cookie flavor was delicious! These don't spread much and really retain the spritzed shape...they looked really nice. I substituted butter for the butter shortening (yuck) and added 1 t. orange extract for a little bit extra orange flavor. I also experimented with a light orange glaze icing that I drizzled over the top of a few...YUM. These can be dressed up or down and my kids loved playing around with different candy sprinkles. At 12 minutes, they cooled to a crisp texture. I think 10 minutes would be better since we really like a chewier cookie. These can EASILY be adapted to any flavor...lemon, almond, coconut...etc. It is the PERFECT spritz recipe!!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I just ate one of these melt in your mouth cookies and they are so awesome!!! BUT.....I am still in the middle of baking them and the cookie press is just not working out for me. The dough keeps sticking and won't come out and stay on the cookie sheet. For every 10 cookies I try, I get one that turns out. The only thing I did different than the recipe was to use butter instead of the butter flavored shortening. I can't believe this would make such a huge difference. I want to try these again with the butter flavored shortening. The taste is so good, I hope it turns out, but so far, it's been a huge pain in my butt!!!....I tried these again with the butter flavored shortening and they turned out a lot better than my first time. I guess that's what it was. This makes a lot of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Jessy, thank you for this wonderful recipe -- my family loves these cookies! This was my first time using a cookie press, so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was easy as pie, and so very delicious. The very slight hint of orange flavor from the zest is perfect. In fact, I may use even a little more zest next time. I had some leftover Nestle's white morsels from another project, so I melted a cup of them in the microwave with a TBS or so of shortening, then stirred in a few drops of orange extract and dipped some of the cooled cookies halfway. Oh my goodness...they were heavenly and looked so pretty with the coating (which set up very nicely so that I could still easily stack the cookies). Again, thank you so very much -- your fantastic recipe has certainly brightened our holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent recipe! I've been making traditional spritz cookies for years, and was skeptical about these but I wanted to try something different. The texture was perfect for the cookie press, and baked a little softer than regular spritz. I opted for 2 tsp. almond flavoring, since I don't like orange. It was wonderful--will replace my traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique C.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I just bought a cookie press a couple weeks ago and tried several recipes already. This has got to be the best one! The cookies came out so soft and flavourful, and went through the press so well! I didn't have any orange zest, so I just used some almond extract. I split the dough into three parts and added a few drops of red and green food colouring to each of the other batches and made an assortment of red, green and plain Christmas cookies in different shapes, topped with sugar sprinkles. I'll definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
These cookies pressed so easily and beautifully. I didn't use the cinnamon or orange zest, but just used the cream cheese base and then separated the dough into three bowls and added maple, coconut, and butter rum extracts for a variety of cookies. They were each so soft and melt in your mouth good! I'll be using this base and trying all kinds of flavorings, but this is my master cookie for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These are the best spritz cookies I've ever made. Last year I had to throw out 2 batches of spritz because they were horrible. The dough goes thru the cookie press great. I took advice of others and eliminated orange zest, replaced with 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract, increased suger to 1 1/2 cups and eliminated the cinnamon. Can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used 1/2 C butter & 1/2C shortening. They turned out awesome with a little powdered sugar dusted on top. Definately a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Hatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe held up great in my cookie press. It was very tasty and easy. I had to make 100 cookies for a cookie exchange party and these were perfect because you can put nearly 2 dozen per cookie sheet. My only piece of advice is to make sure your cookie sheet is cool when you put the cookies on the sheet - they will hold their shape better. Additionally this works best on a ungreased cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is THE perfect dough for a cookie press. I used it with an old Mirro cookie press and a silicone baking sheet. 98% of the cookies pressed out perfect -- they don't spread once in the oven -- and they tasted like a perfect butter cookie. I have had so much trouble in the past with the dough not going thru the press and especially spreading once in the oven. This recipe has solved all of those problems. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States