Snow Day French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Outside, a snowy Boxing Day... inside, lot's of stale bread in the cubboard... Snow Day French Toast... Perfect! This is so easy and good! I like how the sugar caramelizes, *slurp!*, and how this French Toast recipie does not require cinnamon (no cinnamon fan). I did do a little variation, using buttermilk, normal bread, and light brown sugar. Tip: Make sure you mix the batter frequently, the heavy nutmeg sits on the bottom with the result that the last bread slices are extra nutmeggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This turned out super sweet! I don't know if it's great idea to dip the bread in sugar and then griddle it. The sugar melts and gets everything sticky and burns before the toast is cooked all the way. And after you put it on a plate it sticks to the plate and you have to literally scrape it off. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The recipe ended up being delicious...after a slight trial and error process. The recipe says to soak bread in the egg mixture. I would say if you want the eggs fully cooked dip and remove the bread very quickly. I also added some ground cinnamon to the white dipping sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Wow wow wee wow -- this was way too sweet for my taste buds. If I were eight years old though, I would probably love it. But seriously, with the amount of sugar encrusting this french toast, feeding any child this for breakfast would pretty much guarantee a parent the most hyperactive snow day, ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This recipe sounded like it would be so yummy, but I'm sorry to say it was not to our liking. The only change I made was to add cinnamon to the sugar. I used English muffins as suggested, but they were too soggy and hard to keep from falling apart. I really wish we could have enjoyed it. Thanks Laura Owen for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made this recipe with cinnamon raisin bagels which I sliced into thirds. I added a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of vanilla as well as a few sprinkles of allspice. Instead of dipping the bread into the sugar, I sprinkled it on. It proved less messy and I did not waste as much sugar. It was a good recipe but I'll probably try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Fantastic. I never thought about using english muffins instead of regular bread. This was a great idea. It's Christmas morning but now snow. I'm enjoying my english muffin french toast and a lovely mimosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
i made this yummy recipe with 3 cinnamon raisin english muffins & was careful to cut back the sugar coating to a nice even sprinkling. we really enjoyed this different way to make french toast. many thanks laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was sooo good. The only changes I made were to add cinnamon and some vanilla:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobeads

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Level, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This sounded like it would be awesome and it wasn't. Fast, very easy to fix, very different from everyday French Toast. I cut this in half and still ended up with enough egg/milk to make 6 pieces of bread. I thought the ratio was off and I like an eggier dip and the bread was soggy and I had to cook a lot longer to get it firm enough to even turn over. I do think a thicker sliced bread though than the raisin bread I used would be preferrable. No need for syrup as this is very sweet already and the sugar carmelizes on the outside. Don't try to stack these on a serving plate and then try to serve as they stick together and they especially stick to your plate when you are eating them and I wasn't too happy about the cleanup of carmelized sugar on my dishes. This did take a lot more butter and sugar than it says. More desserty though than breakfasty and will definitely give your kids a sugar high especially if you add the maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States