Snow Cone Syrup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the perfect recipe to make syrup for Italian sodas!! Make it up, store in fridge and mix with club soda for a perfect, light drink!! Nice way to control the sweetness and if you're looking for more "adult" flavors, head to your local Mexican grocery store where they have pineapple, mango and hibiscus flavored drink mixes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Lots of flavors to choose from however a lot of the flavors contain red 40 which is really not good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Having kids with ADHD (& one allergies), we don't do artificial dyes. This is a great alternative when we allow them to have the occasional sweet treat. Instead of Kool Aid, I use 1-2 tsp colorless extract in lieu of the Kool Aid. Usually I divide the simple syrup evenly between two Pyrex dishes and add about 1/2 to 1 tsp extract/flavoring into each and then set aside to cool. Those looking for colorless or natural colored flavorings, many professional cake/candy supply shoppes carry a few. Also, check out the artisan line with Amoretti (Whole Foods uses those in their bake shop); I LOVE the Amoretti flavorings! http://www.amoretti.com/amoretti_artisan_natural_flavors/Artisan%20Natural%20Flavors/30/1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mel

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Works like a charm! I can't believe how simple this is. If you add 3 packages of cool aid instead of 2 they taste just like jolly ranchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smchappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I also tweaked the formula as indicated by the member sahm2nick. She calls for 1 1/2 cups water, 1 1/2 cups sugar and 2 packets of your favorite flavoring (I used Flavor-aid). I took it a step further, not wanting all that sugar, and used 3/4 cup of sugar and used splenda for the other 3/4 cup of sugar. Remember, one packet of splenda equals two teaspoons of sugar. So to get to 3/4 cup of equivolent sugar is 18 packets (equals 36 teaspoons, which is equal to a 3/4 cup). You will get only 35-45 calories in a small to medium size snow cone, versus 70-90 calories if you use just regular sugar. No aftertaste either, since you are using regular sugar in it as well. It's a perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I made this for a neighborhood pool party. I put about 8 lbs of sugar into a clean empty gallon jug, added 8 cups of water and 8 Kool Aid packets. Wonderful!! I used condiment containers with the pointed tips (store-bought empty) for easy dispensing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is absolutely fabulous, taste great, many many flavors of kool aid to choose from, and a whole lot cheaper & better than the syrups in the store. And we strongly suggest peach/mango kool aid, makes the GREATEST snocone/shaved ice/slushi !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I could not find flavoring during winter when I found machine on clearance. I made the blue Koolaid and it turned out great, I did use equal parts water and sugar. I am making some again and going to try it as a mixer in some adult Fish Bowl drinks. possibilities endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was excellent! We made it exactly as written and it was easy, cheap and the kids loved it! The longer you let the mix boil, the thicker it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
worked amazingly, was quick and easy. the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States