Snow Cone Syrup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Pretty good, but with a little tweaking it was GREAT! We cut down on the sugar and increased the water so they were equal parts of 1.5 cups (your basic simple syrup recipe), and added TWO packets of drink mix. This really kicked up the flavor, so when you pour it over your snowcone it doesn't taste "watered down". Thanks for the recipe - I'm now the most popular Mom on our street! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I have worked in a snow ball stand, which is what we called snow cone stands in New Orleans. This is the recipie they all use. Also you can use this for Italian soda. Just add a shot glass of the syrup to soda water and cream. Also if you want a vanilla or amaretto flavor omit the koolaide and add extract according to strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This is so good!! I will never buy snow cone syrup again. This recipe is simple, fast, and tastes perfect. Plus it's really cheap! My husband LOVES it. So do our 4 kids! This is going to be made weekly in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
PERFECT syrup for snow cones. It's super easy and is inexpensive so having a bunch of flavors on hand is doable! If you need to cool it off fast stick it in the freezer. **UPDATE!!** my kids LOVE bubblegum and cotton candy flavors, but they're not available in Kool-Aid. SO I used a teaspoon (1 dram) of LorAnn candy flavoring oil, and voila!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I tried this tonight and the more sugar, the better it is, although not the healthier. I used 2 cups sugar and a little over a cup water and 1 pk koolaid! This is much better than the syrup sold at walmart that taste like soap! Now I can make any flavor I want!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This syrup is fabulously sweet, and just as nutritionally worthless as all of my other favorite childhood treats! I added my Kool Aid a little early which worked out well because it was a little lumpy, so the heat took care of that. Add a little lemon juice if you like yours to give you a little pucker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is so much better than store bought syrup and cheaper to! I made this 7 times this summer with different flavors. I used water bottles with the sport tops worked great. I also made this with sugar free drink mix and it worked out really good with no sugar! The hawaiian punch and pink lemonade was my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
We keep this in a sports waterbottle (with the special nozzle on top) and it keeps for months! I'm still playing with how thick I like it. This is relatively thick as written (though still fabulous!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Excellent!Wonderful! 10 starts! We tried ours with Black Cherry Kool-Aid. This one is a keeper for ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipie was a HIT! Everyone admitted, adults as well as kids, that these snow cones were better than ANY they've ever had including fairs & Louisianna Snowballs! I followed the advice of other posters. First I cut back the sugar to 1 1/2c. & increased the water to 1 1/2 c. I used 2 packages of drink mix for more flavor. We also added lemon juice because we don't like things too sweet. I used dehydrated cane juice in place of refined white sugar which didn't affect the flavor at all. In one flavor I used the kool aid "clear" w/no artificial colors. It was the Watermelon-Kiwi flavor. I then colored it w/a little beet juice. This flavor was voted best among everyone who ate our snow cones! I will definately look for more of the Kool Aid "clear" since some of my kids are sensitive to artificial colors & frankly it's not good for any of us. Next I'll try one poster's suggestion to use Loranne candy flavorings. Thank you sooo much for a great recipie & great suggestions by others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MumZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States