Snow Cone Syrup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
even though we are in winter my kids had a snow cone every night for 2 weeks. they loved the flavor. my oldes wich is 4 is a very pickey eater and she couldnt get enough. iam sure in the warmer months we will be having this even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My son is allergic to anything artificial. So snow cones have never been doable for him. After seeing this recipe I realized I could make an all natural version. I skinned and cubed a fresh peach, pureed it and then used the measurements for the rest of the recipe and followed the same directions. 1 peach is plenty. Jarred this and brought it to our church function that serves snow cones. I poured it over and you would never have known the difference BUT better flavor! Plus the color is all natural and it really was delicious. Other kids were asking for mine instead of the fake stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Love this! My daughter and her friend were running a sno cone stand and trying to figure out how to get their costs down. This was a perfect alternative to store bought syrup, and it tastes great. We just saved the used bottles and refilled them with our homemade syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Did this for several summers cause I had a refrigerator with crushed ice maker in door. Don't have one now. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I looked up this recipe after buying a Sunbeam snow cone maker machine at Target. I bought the sugar free syrups that they sold and they tasted horrible, so I thought it would be better to make my own. There are many variations and it takes a bit of practice to make it just right for your taste, but it is well worth it. Here are several ways that I made it... 1) With Splenda instead of sugar. Notes: Turns out VERY sweet so use a minimum of 1 part water to 1 part Splenda. You can then add the Kool Aid for a lower calorie syrup! Works great. 2) With 2 cups water, 2 cups sugar and 1 packet of Kool Aid. Notes: Delicious. Perfect for my taste. 3) With 2 cups water, 2 cups sugar or Splenda and then lemon and lime juice (instead of Kool Aid). Notes: You need at least a half cup of lemon and/or lime juice, otherwise it tastes too sugary. My tip is to add the juice a quarter cup at a time until it's right. Another tip is to store them in those plastic "picnic" bottles that you would serve ketchup or mustard in. You can get them in red and yellow at the dollar store or you can get them in clear at a restaurant supply store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
My kids love this recipe. It is way better than the store bought snow cone syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe really rocks. My grandson is on a snow cone kick. When I saw the recipe last week I was hensitant but after making the first batch of syrup following the suggestions os several reviewers using 1.5 cups of sugar and water. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Exactly what I needed! Such a money saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beaupedia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I use frozen juice concentrate, which you can dilute with water or simply use straight. No need to add sugar. It's already in the fruit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipie was a HIT! Everyone admitted, adults as well as kids, that these snow cones were better than ANY they've ever had including fairs & Louisianna Snowballs! I followed the advice of other posters. First I cut back the sugar to 1 1/2c. & increased the water to 1 1/2 c. I used 2 packages of drink mix for more flavor. We also added lemon juice because we don't like things too sweet. I used dehydrated cane juice in place of refined white sugar which didn't affect the flavor at all. In one flavor I used the kool aid "clear" w/no artificial colors. It was the Watermelon-Kiwi flavor. I then colored it w/a little beet juice. This flavor was voted best among everyone who ate our snow cones! I will definately look for more of the Kool Aid "clear" since some of my kids are sensitive to artificial colors & frankly it's not good for any of us. Next I'll try one poster's suggestion to use Loranne candy flavorings. Thank you sooo much for a great recipie & great suggestions by others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MumZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States