Snickerdoodles V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Both times, this recipe had an odd tangy/bitter taste that people noticed. The first time, I thought the cream of tartar was old and replaced it. But it tasted the same with fresh cream of tartar. Snickerdoodles shouldn't taste tangy. It may not be the recipe's fault. I'll try a recipe without cream of tartar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I adored these cookies. both my boyfriend and my brother both said the same thing "Cinnamon Toast Crunch!" They're good. I added more cinnamon than suggested because I adore cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe was so easy & they are so good! I did substitute butter for shortening & I cut the salt in half. I also added a tsp. of vanilla. They are delicious!!! Next time I think I'll just omit the salt as one of the other reviewers said it has a salty aftertaste just a little. Overall, great though!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A bit more crispy than I expected or am used to having, but for me that was a welcome change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies are good but the cinnamon taste was a little over-powering and cookies were crispy, hence the 4 stars. Made a second batch with a few changes - rolled dough in mixture of 1/4 cup sugar with 2 tsp of cinnamon and replaced the shortening with butter, we like a softer cookie without the cracks. Baked at 375 for 8 mins, came out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I was very disappointed in these cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and then they flattened out when taken out of the oven and were crispy rather than soft and chewy. I won't use this one again. I had an old snickerdoodle recipe that I couldn't find and it was soft and chewy and great. I need to find that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Yummy! I make them really big, like at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Most delightful recipe ever. Just loved it..addicting of course...I used butter instead of shortening and i wont regret it..I omitted the cream of tarter and added 2 tsp of baking powder insted. They looked exactly like the picture and tasted amazing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very good recipe. I did add a bit more flour (1/2 C) as I like a firmer cookie. Kids and hubby are already requesting them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Best and easiest snickerdoodle recipe I've ever made! Delicious! Only one change instead of plain shortening used butter flavored crisco instead. Still perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States