Snickerdoodles V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Easy to make and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I make snickerdoodles at least once a week and this is the recipe that I use as a base for my cookies. I always use 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter and instead of 2 teaspoons cream of tartar, I use only 1 and I increase the baking soda by a teaspoon. I also add about 1 teaspoon of vanilla in with the creamed sugar, butter, shortening mixture. As with any cookie recipe (or for baking in general) let your eggs and butter sit out until they reach room temperature (usually around 30 minutes for the eggs and 1 hour for the butter). Also, beat the butter, shortening and sugar WELL first. I mix them in my stand mixer with the paddle attachment for about 5 minutes before I add the eggs and vanilla. Although this recipe does not say to chill the dough I have found that chilled cookie dough just works better than non-chilled dough, no matter what kind of cookie you are baking. Chill the dough for at least an hour and roll it out into balls that are similar in size, they do not have to be perfectly round. Depending on what you are craving you can also add a little nutmeg in with the cinnamon/ sugar mixture for a little touch of spice. Bake the cookies JUST until they begin to crack on the top. They may look undone, but when they cool they will be a little crunchy around the edges but deliciously chewy in the center. I get repeated requests to make these cookies by my family, friends, even acquaintances. These are spectacular cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My 11 year old made these today and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
So yummy! Slightly crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. My 10-year-old daughter loves making these. They don't stay around long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent and very easy. Each kid had their "station" in the cookie making - scooping, rolling, rolling in the sugar/cinamon, and placing on the pan. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These were great and so simple to make. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Exactly what a Snickerdoodle should be. I did use half margerine, half butter and I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I liked that I didn't have to chill the dough before baking because nothing irritates me more than making cookie dough and having it spread all over the cookie sheet. Great quick cookie that is perfect to make with little hands. What's not to like about Snickerdoodles? NOTE: For those who come behind me and want to sub half butter, half margerine......don't. I had a heck of a time getting these off the baking sheet and they were a little dry. I ended up baking the first set at 350* for ten minutes which was too long but 350* for eight minutes was a little better. My husband ate them anyhow but I could tell the difference. Don't make the mistake I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Sadly, I am allergic to cinnamon but for these cookies I'll keep an epi pen close by and shove my face full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
these were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
So good!!! So easy. I used butter instead of shortening. Teen approved. I was surprised how much kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States