Snickerdoodles V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This recipe is a delicious classic!! However, my recipes specifies 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter instead. I usually add an extra tablespoon or two of flour to the batter and then chill it for several hours before baking. This ensures "thick", perfectly formed cookies. View my submitted photo and see for yourselves. Thanks for the recipe!!! This one ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
So easy to make and very good. I ommitted the salt & used salted butter. A helpful tip for coating the cookies in the sugar/cinnamon mixture is to put the mixture in a ziplock baggie and then add the balls of dough. It is an easy mess free way to coat the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Excellent! This is the best snickerdoodle recipe I have tried in many years. The real test was how long they lasted in the cookie jar...well, they never made it to the jar! Very soft, just the right chewy-ness. I used less sugar in the batter and they stayed softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBLES100
Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
These freeze great. Roll the dough in the cinnamon sugar mixture and throw them in a Ziploc bag. When you want some cookies, grab a few and put them right on the cookie pan -- frozen. They taste just as good. It's weird, this is an old fashion recipe, and they don't seem like anything too special, but people just go nuts for these. I swear, it's like everyone loves a snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I'm a big snickerdoodle fan and these cookies are one of the best I've ever made! I (like some other reviewers)added a tsp. of vanilla, and I also replaced the shortening with butter. Love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Pretty good, but I would change a few things. And a teaspoon of vanilla and ditch the salt. It gives the cookie a funny aftertaste. I also used the butter flavored crisco. I got 30 cookies out of one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPROCK21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zenda, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I followed the directions exactly, but the cookies tasted horrible and puffed up too much. I will not use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Love it Love it Love it! I had never made these cookies befor today but now will be my fav! I did omit the salt these cookies dont need it, plus i chill the dough before making into balls. The chilled dough makes the perfect crackled top. Wonderful cookies that are so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
18 SERVINGS, not cookies. 2 cookies each. :-) Anyway, these are delicious - classic snickerdoodles! I use butter-flavored Crisco and a little more flour, and don't bake them any longer than specified, sometimes a little shorter (I like gooey cookies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe was excellent! I made these cookies for a cookie exchange and I got rave reviews. This was the first time I made Snickerdoodles and the recipe was very easy to follow. The cookies stayed soft for days. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States