Snickerdoodles V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made a half batch of these cookies to test taste the other day because I wasn't sure if they would be good or not. They definitely were good. I then made a full batch today for my friends house tomorrow and as I was taking the last pan out of the oven I realized that I missed putting in the 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I tasted one and it made no difference from what I could tell. I also used in place of 1 cup of shortening 2 sticks of no salt butter. So basically there's no salt at all in these cookies and they still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great recipe, I did change a few things, I doubled the baking soda and didn't use the cream of tartar, personally I don't like the flavor of it. I put the sugar and cinnamon in a plastic baggy to help roll the cookie balls easier, I did also put about a tablespoon more of sugar to help balance the amount of cinnamon. I only left the cookies in the oven for 8 minutes exactly, took them out immediately and placed on a rack, they will look undercooked but they're not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious! I substituted butter for the shortening and added a tsp of vanilla as suggested by other reviews. Good stuff...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyndi r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
i loved these cookies! after i made the batter from the recipe it seemed kind of dry so i added about a cup of milk with a teaspoon of vanilla. i baked them in the oven and they were delicious! will make these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Excellent cookie! I used 1/2 shortening and half butter. I think that may be why they spread more than I had remembered. Taste was great though! I decreased sugar by 1/4 cup. These have always been a favorite cookie in my house! :) Method I used was dark cookie sheet that I forgot to spray, but they didn't stick; I baked at 365 for 8 1/2 minutes. In reply to comment about vanilla, they don't need it because they have a cinnamon flavor! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I made these cookies and they were the best!!!! after reading the previous reveiws I only added 1/4 tsp of salt and added a litte pich more cinimon and suger (i love sugar though) Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! I (as other reviewers suggested) Cut down on the sugar and also used butter instead of shortening and did not add the salt. They turned out GREAT! I also experimented and added butterscotch chips to half the dough and the were excellent! They were very soft. I will defiantly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great and a classic cant wait to share them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
They had an interesting aftertaste, but I think it's because there's no vanilla in them. I thought that was odd. For this recipe, I'd add 1/2 tsp. vanilla with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States