Snickerdoodles V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These turned out PERFECT. With a few alterations. I rarely ever bake right from a recipe. I used salted butter instead of shortening. I also put a little extra cinnamon into the dough. I also added some nutmeg to the dough as well as the sugar coating. I baked them for 13min. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I love this recipe. I did change it a bit though. I use butter instead of shortening and put the cinnamon right in the cookie at Christmas time. Then I roll the cookie in coarse red, green and white sugar for a pretty effect! I can't make them fast enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a tiny bit (1/8 tsp) of almond extract. 8-10 minutes was NOT enough. I needed at least 13. They got hard on the outside as soon as they cooled. They taste really good, I used red and green sugar. I hope people at work like them! Oh, and use butter flavored shortening. That white stuff in a can is nasty, I would never use that in these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These are superb! I wanted them to be disc-shaped, so I flattened them a bit by pushing on the balls of dough before I placed them in the oven, and they turned out just how I wanted them. The flavor was perfect. Ph, I did add a teaspoon of vanilla. That's the only thing I did differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were good, but the first batch got too hard, and lacked flavor. However, after the dough was frozen, they came out fluffy and light. My suggestions are to freeze the dough, leave out the salt, and add 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Also, try dipping the dough in melted butter before you coat it. It gave me a much crispier coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These are so good! And very easy to make. They are either chewy or crispy, depending on how long you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elbow Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are delicious, but different shape from what I think of as a "traditional" snickerdoodle. The texture is a little more dense, not allowing them to widen and flatten out while baking. I tried flattening them out myself before baking, but the dough just crumbled when I did. No matter what shape you're expecting, the taste is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Simply the best snickerdoodle recipe out there. I usually follow the recipe exactly when I make it the first time. I dd change one thing on this one though...I used butter instead of shortening. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The cookies were soft and slightly crunchy. I baked them for 13 mins at 325 degrees. I also made them about an inch size ball. 36 cookies really made double that, since they were smaller. I froze some, will see if they turn out at a later date. I also added some vanilla to the batter and omitted salt since I used salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States