Snickerdoodles IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
When my daughter made these, she had to add a lot more flour. The amount given gave the dough a frosting-like consistency. She added more flour, about 1 1/2 cups, and the dough was perfect. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is the cookie my mom used to ALWAYS make at Christmas. I was surprised when I found it on here. The only thing I did differently was to add just a pinch of nutmeg. These were great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These cookies are divine! My family and friends devoured them. I think the butter and cream of tartar make the difference. In my oven, I cooked them 8 minutes. When I took them out I thought I had undercooked them, but they continued to cook and firm up and became a perfectly dense, chewy cookie. Two thumbs way up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmbwarner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I just made these and tweeked the recipe a bit. I put a little nutmeg in and some cinnamon chips. WOW!!!! This really perked them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I find that using a better quality of cinnamon adds to the taste of the cookie. It is also important to cream the mixture well in the first step of mixing the shortening, sugar and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
When Christmas baking with my mom as our tradition, she made a face when I said I brought Snickerdoodle dough. She was singing a different tune after she ate one! I put the cinnamon and sugar mixture in a ziplock baggie and dropped the cookies in there so it was less messy. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I have NO idea what i did wrong!!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but somehow the cookies came out crumbly and had no taste. Sorry, these cookies weren't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Easy to make, always a crowd pleaser. I baked these for an office holiday party and had my co-workers begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelloMegAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These cookies turned out dry, hard, and flavorless for me, but my mom and dad liked them. I think I'll look for another Snickerdoodle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by st8cfab

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe can be turned into sugar cookies if you do not do the cinnamon and sugar rolled on at the end. Instead do colored sugar. I haven't tried a cookie press yet, but that is my next experiment today. Everyone said these were the best sugar cookies that they have tasted. They taste like store bought cookie dough sugar cookies. THEY ARE EXCELLENT! *when you leave off the cinnamon sugar coating at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States