Snickerdoodles IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
These are so good and easy to make! Had never made them before but I am making them today again. I didn't have any cream of Tartar so I added 1/2 teaspoon of vinegar and it worked. Yes they flatten when cool but snickerdoodles are suppose to be flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Yummy! Loved the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelittlebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Not enough flour - cookies flattened out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Just made these this morning to try out as gifts for people and these are by far the best I have ever had. They were soft on the inside and just slightly crispy on the outside. I made them exactly as the recipe described, used a Sil-Pat mat for the cookie sheet, and they backed for 7.5 minutes each at 400. They don't look quite done when you take them out, but trust me they are! I left them on the sheet for 3 minutes, then transferred to wire racks. Another tip: When making the balls of dough, I would suggest making all the balls first, place them on a plate, and THEN start rolling them in the sugar/cinnamon mixture. Otherwise, you end up with that mixture coated to your fingers and it ends up in the dough if you make the ball and then roll it immediately. May not bother some people, but I really wanted the inside of the cookies to be that crisp clean look and the cinnamon to be just on the outside. These cookies spread on me quite a bit, so I put 9 1-inch diameter balls on a standard 40X30 inch sheet. Also, I flattened out the balls with my thumb like my grandma showed me, so they were roughly 1/4 to 1/3 of an inch thick. The thicker ones puffed up more while cooking and then deflated as they cooled, so they were not as crisp as the thinner ones, but still very edible. Will def make these again, only change I would consider is adding more cinnamon to the coating mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I looove this recipe. I have made it a couple times, its the closest to my Nana's recipe I've come yet! One thing, if you like them a little cake-y do half shortening and half butter (or margarine!) they taste very buttery and yum. I hate to mess with perfection, I love them either way! The other thing is Baking Powder makes them fluffier. Its such a simple and wonderful recipe that doesn't need any frills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and my whole family loved them! Super easy to make when need something fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Cockerill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These cookies turned out dry, hard, and flavorless for me, but my mom and dad liked them. I think I'll look for another Snickerdoodle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by st8cfab

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were good. I used butter in lieu of shortening because I never use shortening in anything. I found just dipping the top of the cookie dough ball into the cinnamon/sugar, rather than rolling it entirely, was sufficient. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
We loved these cookies. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the cookies dough. That brought out the taste of the cinnamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States