Snickerdoodles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I'm not sure if the problem was me or the recipe. I tried making these with Splenda. I used Splenda in the dough and regular sugar in the topping because it has a very different texture obviously. With the 24 serving recipe mine only yielded 15 cookies. I didn't measure, but they must have been bigger than 1 inch. The taste is great, however my cookies (with the Splenda) did not spread at all - they just cracked a little. At about 10 minutes on 400 degrees they cooked all the way through. I'll have to try it again with regular sugar and smaller to see if that's the difference. Thanks for sharing all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Twice I have made these cookies now. And each time they turned out delicious... My husband loves them. Definitely a BIG hit with us. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'm sad to say I had the same problems as others - the cookies didn't spread so no cracks and even with close watching, turned out hard. Also, the 2tbs sugar to 2tsp cinnamon wasn't enough cinnamon. I ended up with biscotti like pucks. That said, I'm still eating them (shrug). I've found my Mom's recipe and it calls for twice the cream of tartar, crisco & a 1-to-1 ratio of cinnamon/sugar, so back to the source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The best snickerdoodles I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuckerlucydog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Followed recipe to a tee and these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very cakey. They were yummy. we did have to let the batch refrigrate for over an hour before we could roll the cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good cookies. Delicious texture and taste. Not too sweet, but just right. I recommend taking them out when they still look a little gooey and taking them right off the cookie sheet. Yum! Be careful if you're recalculating this recipe using the "change the number of servings" feature- the recipe didn't recalculate correctly and I had to redo it myself anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Dough was so dry and crumbly...be careful to add flour a little at a time to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
my first load in the oven, i cooked at 400 and they came out hard and puffy ugly. So, i turned the oven down to 350 and baked them for 8-9 minutes, and they came out perfect! very yummy! i'm still looking for the perfect snickerdoodle recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great cookies!!!! I needed to leave mine in for 12 min. but other then that they are simply fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States