Snickerdoodles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Snickerdoodles are my favorite cookie so I have tried 20+ recipes. This one is great HOWEVER turn the oven down a little - a tad below 375 degrees and be sure to use small scoops. Too big and they won't cook in the center. Always use room temp butter and eggs use the freshest ingredients possible and of the best quality you can afford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is the same recipe my family has used for as long as I can remember. It uses butter instead of shortening, which I definitely prefer. I do not like to use shortening in anything. Also, it uses less butter/fat than other recipes, but the cookies still taste great. This is a classic snickerdoodle recipe and I always get rave reviews when I make them. For those who said the cookies didn’t bake well, I think the problem may have been your oven or the ingredients and not the recipe, because these always turn out perfectly for me. They are simple and fast to make and I almost always have the necessary ingredients in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These are the best snickerdoodles Ive ever had. The cream of tarter doesn't really matter if it is added. I personally think they taste better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Just made these - Great recipe and the taste is wonderful :) Only thing I found was that the dough was sticky to roll in my hands but I found a very simple and quick solution of wetting my hands with water before rolling the balls. Worked wonderfully, no more sticky and also rolling in the cinnamon/sugar mixture sticked to the balls better. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharpsburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
These cookies were really disappointing. Not at ALL the usual snickerdoodle cookie we all grew up with. They dont spread and stay in mounds. The flavor isn't anything wonderful, as it is a cookie that seems dry and light on flavor. My suggestion, find a new recipe when looking for snickerdoodle, pass this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Good recipe! I followed exactly, except I baked slightly under 400 degrees (390), smashed the cookies a little with the bottom of a juice glass and baked for 8 min. 15 sec. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I didn't have cream of tartar, and these still came out fabulous. I was really craving cookies and needed a simple ingredient list since I don't have much. My favorite part is how the edges are crispy while the center stays chewy for days. I can't wait to make these for my family for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These are better than any Snickerdoodles I've ever tried, and I've made many different recipes. I don't like the flat, crispy ones that most recipes make. These are soft and thick. Very yummy! I made these several times this fall/winter, and they were always eaten up right away. Oh, and I don't normally like to eat cookie dough - but this one is very good - hard to stay out of! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
These taste just like my Grandma's snickerdoodles! I made them for a party and they were gobbled up. Tip: for special Christmas snickerdoodles, die the sugar red and/or green and the cookies have the crackled look, but festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
We used eggbeaters and I didn't have the cream of tarter and they still went over great. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States