Snickerdoodles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We loved this recipe! Thanks for sharing it...also if you want licorice doodles...leave out the vanilla and the cinnamon sugar at the end and add 1 oz of anise extract instead....yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made a few batches of this recipe and found that following it exactly resulted in cookies that were a little too hard, tall, and heavy on cinnamon. I also experimented with a bunch of the recommendations of other reviews and got better results. Definitely take the suggestions of other reviewers who recommend: 1) baking at a slightly lower temperature (or for less time), unless you like crispy/hard cookies; 2) wet your hands to roll the balls (otherwise the dough sticks); 3) flattening the balls a bit when you put them on the pan; 3) using a higher sugar to cinnamon ratio for the coating (depending on your tastes, obviously). These are worth making again with the above adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Not enough butter. I added another 1/2 cup because all snickerdoodle recipes with the same amount of flour called for 1 cup of butter or shortening. Otherwise the cookies taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Super easy and great recipe! I have made these during the holidays the past two years.. The only trick to making these super fluffy and melt in your mouth status is to MAKE SURE YOUR SIFT ALL DRY INGREDIENTS prior to mixing! It's a bit more work but it makes ALL the difference. Received so many compliments! Thanks so much for the recipe Sue W!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungrygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These are easy to make and delicious. My only alternation was to add about 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter because I love cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Easy recipe i do add some of the cinnamon to the cookie batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great recipe! I was happy to find a snickerdoodle recipe that uses butter instead of shortening. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. Not sure why some reviewers ended up with golf balls, mine spread out exactly the way I expected, no need to flatten before baking. Thanks so much, my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I made these gluten free by using bobs red mill gluten free all purpose baking flour. They were excellent and went very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ProgrammerM
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Seriously amazing taste, flavor, and texture. But I made the balls under one inch, flattened them with a shot glass, and cooked at just under 400 and still had semi-uncooked centers with crisp outsides (though the dough isn't very wet so this isn't too much of an issue). Definitely turn the oven closer to 375 to get the centers cooked unless you make them thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProgrammerM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. These are very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States