Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I followed most of the recipe except used unsalted butter instead of shortening. The dough was very easy to handle-almost like playdoh consistency! I used a plastic spoon to scrape out each portion before balling up and rolling into the cinnamon/sugar coating. It was a surprisingly quick process. The first time I made these I just dipped the top of the dough into the cinnamon/sugar spice coating - a quicker process yet, but rolling the entire ball into the coating gives the cookie better taste (well worth the trouble). Just tried this recipe again, but I only made half the batch. For this I still used butter instead of shortening. I added half tsp. vanilla and only half tsp. cream of tartar. Using a plastic melon baller I scooped up ~ tbsp. of dough, rolled in cin/sug mixture, then slightly flattened on cookie sheet (using bottom of a custard bowl). I baked @ 375F for 9 minutes (as per another reviewer's direction). The cookies baked up in the classic form; slightly flattened with the rough, crackly texture. I got 3 dozen beautifully goldened, cinnamon-speckled cookies. I think that adding less cream of tartar got the dough to flatten out more (instead of the "dough ball" look) while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These are very traditional snickerdoodles. The only thing I do differently is to dip the tops in the cinn/sugar rather that roll the whole cookie in it. This way, the sigar doesn't burn on the bottom of the cookie. I also do this with molasses crinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Awesome recipe! I changed a few things... used 1 cup butter instead of shortening. I baked them at 375 for 9 min. PERFECT! Great texture and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years. I love it with coffee, tastes like cinnamon coffee cake. If you do not want the cookie crispy simply omit or cut down on the cream of tartar. I like mine chewy so I omit the cream of tartar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLU3WATER
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I didn't have margarine so I used all butter. I also ran out of vanilla. But these cookies turned out so good!! I took them out of the oven at 8 minutes while they're still soft, but firmed up and became chewy once cooled. The only thing I'll change is to cut down a little on the sugar. Will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This is a fantastic Snickerdoodle recipe! Everyone who tastes them absolutely LOVES them and there are never any leftovers. At work, I always have to bring them when we have a luncheon. I cook them at 375 for 8 minutes so they are soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This recipe was awsome! Very easy to make. Only downside is mixing shortening with sugar! That's a big workout. My mixer splashes it everywhere so I have to do it by hand. I have made these cookies about 5 times. All 5 times have been wonderful! Friends and family request it often!! It's a great Christmas cookie. I hope you try and enjoy it as much as I do!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
don't know what happened, but my cookies came out the same way they looked when we put them in, balls of dough but they were baked through... we think it's b/c of the spleda we used..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breadmaking_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by azstud
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I am in college and the first time I made these snickerdoodles I let almost everyone in my hall know...well they went instantly so I kept them to just my roomates the 2nd time so we would enjoy more of these for ourselves. They were still finished the very next day! I decided to add a picture here of my snickerdoodles. The only thing preventing me from giving this recipe 5 stars is that they are not very fluffy but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azstud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
They were OK, good, but really need 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2tsp salt rather than just 1/4. Other than that, pretty fairly good. Mrs. Evelyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States