Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Fantastic recipe. So easy and delicious. My only addition was 2 TSP of vanilla. The cookies come out soft and chewy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADAMS4314
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent recipe. Once I made it a few times, I started experimenting with it and found it was even better with 1/2 tsp of vanilla added. I have even done half butter, half shortening which while good is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaffan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is the recipe my grandmother used which made me originally fall in love with snickerdoodles. I don't have cream of tartar on hand normally so I look for recipes without, but this recipe turns out slightly soft, slightly light, and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Yumm-o. I tweaked the recipe and used whole wheat flour (which I've been using for lots of stuff lately,) and instead of shortening I used 1/2 cup reduced fat butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil. I'm sure they taste less indulgent than the original, but a bit healthier, and my 3 year old can't tell the difference! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These cookies turned out great! Based on other reviews and some of my preferences, I made the following changes: (1) I used only 1-1/2t cream of tarter; (2) dipped only the tops of the cookies in cinnamon/sugar before cooking; (3) added 1-1/2t vanilla (vanilla make cookies even better!); (4) used only 2 cups of whole wheat flour. Scrumptious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. Very much like the recipe I lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good, traditional snickerdoodle. I made exactly as directed and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. I halved the cream of tartar, but otherwise left it alone. **Update: I am a culinary student, externing at a high-end restaurant, my Chef is one of the contestants from a past season of "Top Chef" and he said that these cookies "are like CRACK, they are so wonderfully addictive". I'd say that bumps it up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Perfect recipe. I followed suggestion of others and substituted butter for the shortening. I also used half the cream of tartar and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I did bake them about 12 minutes, possibly b/c of the reduced cream of tartar. They turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Mmmmm good. Didn't change a thing; didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traffic638

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States