Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I found these a little boring. They LOOKED like they were going to turn out perfectly when they were in the dough ball stage but they didn't. The sugar wasn't thick enough, the crust on top. The cookies were sort of flat. Disappointing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. Only change was to use half butter $ half shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Soft, slightly chewy, and SO FLUFFY! I love this recipe! I have made several times and have the following tips: I always double the recipe. adding an extra 1/4 t of salt improves taste. I suppose you could add 1/8th to the regular batch. Cream the shortening/sugar mixture really well (I do for 4-5 minutes on medium mixer speed), add one egg at a time and don't add the next one until the previous is fully incorporated. Butter flavored crisco gives the best texture to the cookie, and they keep chewy and soft for so much longer. Normally I wouldn't use crisco and would use unsalted butter, but these are SO much better with! Tonight I decided to do a 50:50 mixture of cardamom:cinnamon. It was delicious! Such a nice, different taste with the same snickerdoodle sourness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Used butter flavored Crisco, which I think lent a weird sour/chemically aftertaste. Never used it before & wanted to try it before holiday baking ensues. The texture was great, though they didn't spread very much. Probably will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toolmanswife
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good - watch these cookies carefully so that you get a soft cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Made to the recipe minus the cream of tartar came out great, but didn't last one day, they were gobbled up! Fantastic! Nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
If there were ten stars this recipe would get them all. I've been making it for years and they are always a hit, always. Nothing needs to be changed thank you so much to the orginal poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very easy recipe. The dough was easy to work with and they came out wonderful. I added some vanilla and nutmeg because I like the extra flavor. Baked them for 9 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I ended up having to use margarine instead of shortening and then chose to use half whole wheat flour and the cookies still turned out delicious. I can imagine how much better they would be with shortening! (I also added 1 tsp vanilla and a little cinnamon into the mix itself.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious! They turned out great. all I did was use butter instead of shortening and I added 1tsp of Vanilla and 1 cup of chopped pecans. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elysian Fields, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States