Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Perfect snickerdoodle recipe. I took them to a holiday gathering and people made comments that they seemed to melt in their mouth as they ate them. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! Only change was I subbed 1/2 cup butter for half the shortning as That's how I have always made my snickerdoodles. Makes a lot, even though hubby rolled very big balls when he helped me! My kids will really enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The were much much better than the "lighter snickerdoodle" recipe. And these only have 8 more calories....couldn't think of any reason not to make these. Anyway, 8 minutes at 400 was a bit too long...the bottoms burned, and I only dipped the top half of the cookie in the sugar/cinnamon mixture. Thank you for posting, I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacielynne22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
love this recipe they tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I found these a little boring. They LOOKED like they were going to turn out perfectly when they were in the dough ball stage but they didn't. The sugar wasn't thick enough, the crust on top. The cookies were sort of flat. Disappointing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. Only change was to use half butter $ half shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Soft, slightly chewy, and SO FLUFFY! I love this recipe! I have made several times and have the following tips: I always double the recipe. adding an extra 1/4 t of salt improves taste. I suppose you could add 1/8th to the regular batch. Cream the shortening/sugar mixture really well (I do for 4-5 minutes on medium mixer speed), add one egg at a time and don't add the next one until the previous is fully incorporated. Butter flavored crisco gives the best texture to the cookie, and they keep chewy and soft for so much longer. Normally I wouldn't use crisco and would use unsalted butter, but these are SO much better with! Tonight I decided to do a 50:50 mixture of cardamom:cinnamon. It was delicious! Such a nice, different taste with the same snickerdoodle sourness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Used butter flavored Crisco, which I think lent a weird sour/chemically aftertaste. Never used it before & wanted to try it before holiday baking ensues. The texture was great, though they didn't spread very much. Probably will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toolmanswife
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good - watch these cookies carefully so that you get a soft cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Made to the recipe minus the cream of tartar came out great, but didn't last one day, they were gobbled up! Fantastic! Nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States