Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These were delicious! Thank you! I did change a couple of things, though. I didn't have shortening, so I used real butter and then left out the salt. I also added a tsp. of vanilla. This is the first time I made Snickerdoodles without buying the premade dough and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes. I used half the shortening and added butter to substitute for the other half. I also added a teaspoon (for 1/2 recipe) of nutmeg and the same amount of baking powder as baking soda. When the recipe says to blend the egg well, blend the egg WELL. I didn't do this the first time and it makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Excellent. only made half batch; had no cream of tartar..researched substitute..add 2 tsp.lemon juice to egg,sugar, BUTTER (instead of shortening) mixture for 1 tsp of cream of tartar. Turned out perfect. Also as other reviews mentioned, 375 degrees for about 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are some of my favorites. I made a batch of these for a friend of mine as a gift. She loved them and is asking for more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
excellent recipe! only we added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract instead of vanilla to half the recipe. eat and enjoy we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These are my husband's favorite cookies. I make the following adjustments when I make them: 1/4 cup less flour; 2 tablespoons extra butter and shortening; 1 tablespoon of vanilla, a few dashes of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of nutmeg to the batter. I also lightly flatten the cookies with my palm and sprinkle extra cinnamon/sugar mix to the top as well as cooking them at a lower temp for longer because I make very big cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Night

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
When making Snickerdoodles I often use nutmeg in place of the cinnamon in the mixture to roll the dough. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These were great cookies! I generally followed the recipe...though I had to use four tablespoons of butter because I didn't quite have enough shortening. They turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
hubby just made these this morning YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Yummy!! I turned the oven down to about 375 and took them out after 10 minutes after leaving the first batch in too long and burning them :/ These are great and easy to make. Had to stop myself from eating them all as they came out of the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States