Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Use 1" cookiescoop and 3:1 sugar to cinnamon ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Roy, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These cookies are awesome! Instead of shortening, I used salted butter and the baking time wasn't even quite 8 minutes (knock off a minute or close to two). I took it out the oven for about six minutes and just let it cool out. When I did it for 8 to 9 minutes the bottom of the cookies were too dark, so the second batch I kept a close eye on them. Definitely will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This recipe wasn't bad, but it wasn't a snickerdoodle to me. It didn't taste bad, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Not my favorite recipe. Too greasy. Next time I will decrease the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Perfect and foolproof recipe, even for the somewhat baking-challenged like myself. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of one thing...I used half butter and half shortening, only because that was what I had on hand. These are the best snickerdoodles I have ever made, and my daughter, a snickerdoodle afficionado, totally agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wow! Hold on, I can't type right now because I'm stuffing cookies in my face. Okay, I used regular shortening as directed. I bought it special for this recipe before I read the reviews that some people had used butter. So, I went ahead and used it. I added about 3/4 a cap full of vanilla. Just because. No idea what that turns out to. Maybe 1/8 tsp? A little extra salt only because I used the wrong measuring spoon. Not an overly skilled chef. I found the dough dry and crumbly. It was making me fairly cranky. I squished a ball of dough together, rolled it around the cinn-sugar and dropped it on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I might have made them bigger than the recipe said to. I like cookies. Bigger must be better. Baked them at 375 for the first tray for 8 minutes, expecting to give them more time. Just wanted to keep an eye on them. With two minutes to go, they still looked like cinnamon dough balls. I was not happy. But, I let them bake for another, maybe 6 minutes (checking on them every two minutes) and they turned into the most beautiful, perfectly shaped darlings! Crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside. Little packages of nummy goodness. Second tray, I bumped up the heat to 400 and made them smaller. I think they took about 11 minutes. Head change didn't seam to make a difference. These are the ultimate, perfect Snickerdoodle. Nicely crackled on top. Perfect texture. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I am a cookie dough eater (I know, horrible) so when I tried the dough it wasn't that good. But I was surprised when the actual cookies turned out great. Light, sweet, and beautiful coloring. Makes a great Christmas cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLee1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Love, love, love. I must have made them too big. I only got 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
am doing it right now, have qustion, it says 5 dozen and it says 30 serving, how much cookies come out of the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Quick, easy and yummy! I made these today and am so happy I did. I followed the directions exactly and the cookies came out light, fluffy and full of cinnamon/sugar goodness - without tasting overly "eggy" (like some snickerdoodles can). I will be using this recipe again. Thank you for sharing N. Drew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by planetdebz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States