Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Bravo, Linda - this recipe produces the PERFECT snickerdoodle cookie (...and I KNOW a good snickerdoodle when I taste it!). For those who said it's not soft enough, there are 3 things I know of that can cause that: baking them too long, using butter instead of shortening, storing them improperly. Don't expect these to brown before you take them out of the oven - if they're brown, you overcooked them. And as odd as it may sound, butter-flavored Crisco actually works better than real butter in many cookie and pastry recipes. To store these, place them in an airtight container or ziploc bag with a slice of soft white bread; the bread will turn hard, but the cookies will stay soft. Just make sure you remove the hard bread and add a fresh slice each day (good luck - these cookies only last HOURS in my house!). Thanks again, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These are absolutely fabulous! The first time I tried them, I used butter, and they good, but they just seemed to be lacking something, and the color was very pale. The second time around, I used butter flavored shortening, and they were incredible! The butter flavored shortening seemed to make them chewier, and it gave them a very pretty buttery color that was a lot more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I had high hopes for these after reading the reviews. They puffed up in the oven in the first five minutes, but by the time I took them out at 9 minutes,they came out totally flat. I followed the recipe exactly. And after the first batch was flat, I chilled the remaining dough, hoping that would help. Nope..made no diference. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
First off, on the bad reviews for this particular recipe..one of the worst things you can do is use cheap products. This will cause taste variations and cooking consequences to turn out bad. I will give some advice...do not bake them for 9 minutes. Try them for 6 or 7 minutes. This will leave them soft and chewy. If your cookie dough is coming out like clay then try some variations like cutting down some of the flour. If it is pastey, add a tsp of milk. I myself had no problems with this recipe and found it to be very very good. Thank you so much for such a wonderful cookie.. It was excellent and we ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
I grew up on snickerdoodles and now they are my childrens favorites! This is the best recipe for them on this site! Please do not choose a snickerdoodle recipe using butter....it doesn't compare to the taste of the crisco ones...not even the same cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I followed the recipe EXACTLY, but they tasted like modeling clay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
These are sooo good! I make them all the time and what's good is the batter doesn't stick to your hands when you're rolling them , and they're really quick since you don't need to put them in the refrigerator. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Perfect little pillows of sweet, cinnamon-y, melt-in-your mouth Snickerdoodle. I added a teaspoon of vanilla just cuz, and baked them only until set, not "slightly brown" around the edges. This, I believe, is critical to the desired soft and tender result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
My mom used to make these for us every Christmas. We would eat them up before she had a chance to...and they were her favorites too. I had lost my recipe for these and am really glad that someone else posted....Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
These are a new family favorite. Everyone that tastes one loves them. They are perfect for any event or just for family. I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla. They are fast and easy. Your group will not be disappointed. Since I found this recipe, I have made these at least 6 times. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States