Snickerdoodle Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I dont think I would normally rate a full 5 stars on something but this got a perfect on all of them! Its very easy to mix together as it does not get so hard like most cookie doughs and it doesnt require refridgeration. Its delicious with that authentic Snickerdoodle taste (much better than starbucks!). Theres virtually no baking time limit (8-16 minutes) as it does not burn easily. Very kid friendly. I would have loved rolling the dough into balls like playdough and rolling it in the cinnamonsugar. This would make an awesome cookie in a jar gift as it requires VERY little extra items. The cinnamon sugar can be packaged into smaller jelly jars that can be bought in supermarkets. I loved the cookies and everyone loved them. Not to sweet with the perfect snickerdoodle tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Now this is my kind of cookie!!! My daughter and I doubled the batch and I used shortening instead of butter. Also, after we had rolled into balls (but BEFORE we put them on the cookie sheets) we rolled the balls into 1/2c sugar and 1/2tsp cinnamon mix. Then, we took a glass cup and just flattened them ever so slightly. The cookies baked perfect, looked great and tasted awesome! Slightly crunchy on the outside and soft inside. The cinnamon/sugar mix really adds taste and I ate so many, I almost made myself sick! These dissapeared after two days and my boyfriend told me to next time, TRIPLE the batch!! Thanks Diane!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
I love this cookie in a jar recipe. It made the best snickerdoodle cookies and they were very easy to do. I quit baking a long time ago because of the hassle of measuring and not have the ingredients, like cream of tartar, I needed to make the cookie I wanted. Now I make several jars up and everything is handy to make a quick treat without the hassle. This one is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Outstanding ... especially when I added 1 tablespoon (YES ... tablespoon!) of pure vanilla extract with the butter and eggs. YUM ... made 5 dozen ... cookies will spread slightly so leave space between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellent! Definately like the addition of the 1 tsp vanilla and then the nutmeg with the cinnamon and sugar. My husband said these were perfect! Oh, and with the crumbling and sticking to the pan, I just sprayed some Pam and had NO problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is absolutely THE best snickerdoodle cookie recipe that I have EVER had!!!! I don't do the jar thing so I can just make them right away because they're SO good!! If you flatten them until they're like really thick pancakes, then they're perfectly crispy all over but not hard when they're done baking. I've made double batches and have them disappear in one day!! The recipe is absolutely fabulous and perfect for anyone who knows a great cookie when they taste one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is the best snickerdoodle recipe I've ever tried. While pregnant with my son, I used to crave snickerdoodles, and would purchase these from Starbucks with a hot chocolate. These are by far the closest recipe I've come across that is not only the same consistency, taste and texture, but also looks just like them. Too good to put in a jar - this has become the only recipe for this type of cookie in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
I made a dozen of these at Christmas. Easy to make and everyone loved them. Best I've found for cookies in a jar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This is the best and easiest I have found! Gave it as Christmas presents and they all loved it! THanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Fantastic! Thanks Diane. Made these for the usually finicky grandkids and they gobbled them up quickly! I bake all cookies on parchment to prevent the sticking another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States