Snickerdoodle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I just made this, n the batter turned out like a cookie dough. Can someone please tell me what is wrong, as I went by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The cake came out dry .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
The best part about this cake is that it tastes like you put way more time, effort, and ingredients into it than you actually do! All of the ingredients are always kept on hand, and it is very easy to make. The cake turned out absolutely delicious! I, like the other users, put some cinnamon into the batter. I also poured half the batter in the pan, then sprinkled more cinnamon and sugar over that before putting in the rest. I also doubled the topping using half white and half brown sugar. Next time I'd put half of the topping in the middle. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I would have rated this a 5, but I read reviews beforehand and mixed 1/4 cup of sugar with cinnamon and added it to flour mixture before adding the egg mixture. I doubled the crumb topping. I think next time I might try to make this with an extra egg to make it even moister. It is definitely a 5 with tweaks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Good and very simple. Not too exciting. Would be good with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jfree52
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I love coffee and anything that goes with it! This cake has a great balance between moisture and crumble. I only had rice milk on hand at the time, but it still came out great. Super easy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfree52

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a very simple cake to make, and instead of using the exact recipie, I used the variations that Chelsea Rose used in her review here, adding the cinnamon and vanilla to the batter, and omitting the butter from the topping and using brown sugar instead. I cooked it at 325 for 22 mins. in a dark coated pan. It tasted very good, though the batter still seemed to lack something.. but cant seem to place my finger on it. maybe im just used to the cinnamon bundt cakes that have a the cinnamon swirled through them.. I think the next time I make this, I will try to layer cinnamon and brown sugar in between by spreading the batter 1/2 at a time. Does that make sense? lol Over all though, it turned out yummy. Great cake to make in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelsea rose
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I give this a five star; however, I must admit, I changed the recipe a bit: for the topping I mixed 3 tbsp. white sugar, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon (no butter). For the batter I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I added in 3/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla. I baked it at 325 for 22 minutes and it turned out perfect! It was so moist and flavorful and it was gone within 12 hours! Easy and I love how it uses things just sitting around in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good! Family LOVED it! Only made a few changes. Replaced half the flour with wheat flour, added 2 tbs of cinnamon to the batter and used low fat butter and skim milk instead of shortening and whole milk. Doubled the ingredients to make a double batch, but still used same size square glass pan, but baked it an extra 10 minutes. Made the perimeter a little crunchy and the center chewy. (My wife and I like chewy snickerdoodles, the kids like crunchy ones, so everyone was happy). Will be making this again (just not very often, not exactly on our healthy lifestyle list, but I LOVE snickerdoodles and this cake!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My husband took this to work and got good feedback for it. It's not a replacement for my Grannie's Snickerdoodle cookies but it'll do in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States