Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My husband told me to give this recipe 6 stars!! We loved this cake! I added some extra cinnamon into the batter, and put some crumbled butter on top as it baked. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I really enjoy this cake with black coffee in the morning. Yum! I didn't have shortening so I used vegetable oil which means it probably wasn't as fluffy as it should have been. But it was incredibly moist which is how I like cake. I doubled the cinnamon/sugar dry mix and used half on top with a couple tablespoons of melted butter. I may try it with less sugar on the inside next time, it was really sweet. All in all, I made this as a result of a sweet pregnancy craving and it did the job! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This is the moistest coffee cake I've ever tasted! I did make some changes as suggested by other reviews. I substituted 1/2 stick margarine for half of the shortening and added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. I only had 1% milk so I mixed 2/3 cup of it with 1/3 cup of fat free half & half. I doubled the cinnamon topping recipe and added 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts and sprinkled it over half the batter and again on top. After the cake was done baking I poured 1/2 stick of melted margarine over the top. Delicious! I will definitely make this recipe again but will cut back on the amount of salt or use butter flavored shortening or unsalted butter for the batter. Thanks to Katee2!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This cake was amazing. I used butter instead of shortening, because it's what I had on hand. I also used cake flour instead of all purpose. I don't know if it was the recipe, or just luck, but I was told this was the best cake I've ever baked and I agreed. And I bake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My boyfriend loved the cake. I changed the recipe up a bit, for his happiness and per other reviews. I used butter instead of crisco. I added 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the flour mixture. 1 tps vanilla to the egg mixture. I cooked the cake in 2 round cake pans. I doubled the cinnamon sugar topping, used half on one side of the cake. The other half I turned into a struesel with 2 TB brown sugar, 1 TB flour and 2 TSB cold butter. While the cakes where still cooling, I poured 1/4 cp melted butter over each half. I stacked the cakes with the topped sides in the middle and frosted the whole cake with store bought vanilla frosting. It turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
AMAZING!!! I used butter instead of shortening and that definately made it better! I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter, and I also doubled the cinnamon topping and put half of it in middle of the cake then covered it with the rest of the batter. Also, with the second half of the topping I added about 1 TBSP of flour, 2 TBPS of brown sugar and then cut in 2 TBSP of room temp butter until it resembeled more of a crumbly mixture and sprinkled that on top. HOLY COW!!! It made a perfect strussel topping! I also followed other reviewers suggestions and drizzeled 1/2 a stick of melted butter over the top while it was still warm. Everyone raved over this!!! Thanx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This was pretty good. Not the best cake I've ever had. It was pretty good though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very yummy cake. It was not as flavorful as I would have liked it to be, hence the four star rating, but it was good regardless. I made the following changes/additions: first, I used butter instead of shortening. Second, I added vanilla extract. Third, instead of sprinkling just the top of the cake with the sugar/cinnamon mixture, I doubled it, sprinkled half of it on half of the batter and then spooned the rest of the batter on top and used the rest of the mixture. I'll add some cinnamon to the batter if I make this again (and I probably will).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
All in all this was a very good recipe. I will not say you'll swear your eatiing a fluffy Snickerdoodle, but overall the flavour is there. I make snickerdoodles with varying additions to the outer sugar layer, and this translates well to this cake. Sometimes we do just sugar, sometimes I add cocao powder to the sugar instead od cinnamon. As with the cookies I use Vanilla (tsp or more ot taste) and that defenitely added a little something to this cake. I also found that if you enjoy the cinnamon/sugar topping but not the crunch of it, mix powdered sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over individual peices prior to serving. If you try to do this over the cake as a whole and it sits overnight the sugar/cinnamon often goes goey or just melts in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States