Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Corsetopia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Tasted just like the cookie! I put sugar and cinnamon on the bottom of the pan as well as the top and it made the bottom nice and crunchy. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Yummy! I prepared the batter as written and used the amount of topping called for and it filled 12 mini bundt cakes, 12 cupcakes, and 24 mini muffins. For the mini bundts, I put a little of the topping in the bottom of the pan, then batter, then more topping, then batter and a final sprinkle of topping. These were the best out of the three because of all the cinnamon. The cupcakes baked in liners for 15 minutes and had topping in the middle as well as the top. The mini muffins only had the cinnamon on the top and baked for 10 minutes. They were all delicious when warm and still pretty good when cold. I had a cinnamon glaze in mind that I thought I might need as some of the reviews said the cake was plain, but I think the additional cinnamon/sugar layers cured that. I can see how it would be easy to overbake and therefore dry out this cake, as it doesn't really brown or change color at all. If you test it long before you think it's done, you may be surprised to see that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this cake was the Best!I added butterscotch chips to the batter.This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
WOW! I thought it looked a little dry as it was coming from the oven. I let it cool (barely) and took a bite. YUMMY! This cake does taste just like the cookie only fluffier. It was moist, light and tasty and as I stood there eating slice after slice, I began to think of what else I could pair with it. It's great with strawberries and a cold glass of soymilk. Next time I'll try making homemade whipping cream to serve along with. Peaches, berries or as is this cake is great. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FluffyStuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
It was good, but I would rather make the cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
My family loved this cake. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and added a Tablespoon of mexican vanilla. Also used butter flavor shortening. The cake came out light and fluffy. I didn't care for the sugar/cinnamon topping. I think next time I'll make a cinnamon glaze with white powder sugar and butter to spread over the top while it's hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is awesome! I'm guilty of eating half of the cake myself. I made it exactly as the recipe states with the exception of drizzling butter over the top at the end. It is like one giant snickerdoodle!MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Came out moist and yummy! I was low on flour so I used baking mix instead, I also used butter instead of shortening, added a tsp of vanilla and of cinnamon to the batter. Took the advice of a previous baker and made double the topping then sprinkled in a layer of it in between the batter. I did have a small issue with it coming over the baking dish but no worries, it's still just as good! I also added a tblsp of butter to the topping to create crumbles....similar to a coffee cake this is one of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is an easy recipe and very good. I made a few changes though. I recommend adding 1 tsp vanilla to the batter. The topping was doubled 1/2 in middle of cake the other 1/2 added 1 tblsp flour and cut in 2 tblsp softened butter to make it crumbly then added finely chopped walnuts to the crumble mixture to top the cake. After the cake was finished baking drizzled 1/2 stick of butter over the top while it was still hot. My father called this cake kuchen and said it reminded him of the kuchen his grandma used to make from Germany. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is a coffee cake. Next time I might keep the topping in the middle and frost with icing for more of a "dessert cake". Uses ingredients you have on hand and very quick and easy. Great cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States