Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
For those w/ dairy allergies: use of soy milk instead of reg milk works very well, tastes like the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made this several times and I think I have perfected it. Not so much for the Snickerdoodle taste but perfected it more for a coffee cake / cinnabon taste. I used 1c white and 1c brown sugar instead of just white. I used margarine instead of shortening. Also, I added 1 box instant vanilla pudding. I increased the cinnamon to 3 teaspoons. I also made a mixture of 1C brown sugar, 2 t cinnamon, 1/2 t vanilla, and 2 T margarine. Mixed this an plopped by spoon fulls over cake in pan. Then ran a knife to create a marbalized effect. Then sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar over top and baked @350 x 32min. When cool, I drizzled some white icing overtop. YUMMM!! Taste more like a cinnabon but so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I bake all the time, and I love snickerdoodles. That being said, this was dry and tasteless. I made the cake exactly as stated and we didn't like it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Just finished baking this. Am pretty excited to eat this... followed the directions completely, except for the topping, I felt like I was putting A LOT of sugar and cinnamon on top, upon looking at the cake, I wish I used it all. It look interesting though. yum, yum, can't wait to hear the ruling from my roommate and boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great! Made it for a special lunch dessert, put lots of cinnamon sugar on the top, some cinnamon in the batter, and it was just delicious. Soft and yummy! I halved the batter, baked it in a brownie tin, and it made plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It was a lot like coffee cake. It was very good. I frosted it using Caramel Frosting IV and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Yummy recipe! Easy and turns out wonderfully moist and delish - I subbed butter for the shortening. And added a good tsp of cinnamon to the batter (I am not sure I would've like it without!). Also, I spread half the batter into the pan, then sprinkled half the cinnamon/sugar mixture over it, followed by the rest of the batter. You couldn't really see the layer (probably have to use a lot more cinn/sugar) but I appreciated the taste it added. --To make a little more enticing, I made a cream cheese/powdered sugar/milk glaze to the top of each piece. But it's perfectly tasty without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This cake was good. A basic white cake with cinnamon and sugar on the top. I'd definitely recommend reading through the reviews and adding some cinnamon, vanilla, extra topping layer, etc. to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was a simple recipe with delicious results. I took PP's advice and used butter instead of shortening, added a teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter, created a layer of cinnamon sugar halfway through cake and drizzled with a half cup of melted butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Looking over the recipe and judging from other reviews it was apparent this cake needed "something." I made half a recipe in an 8x8" pan and rather than use the sugar/cinnamon topping, I added a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. It turned out to be not as tall a cake as I would have liked, but it was fragrant with the vanilla and cinnamon and simply delcious topped with a fluffy buttercream and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon. And sure enough, it does taste like a Snickerdoodle - a moist Snickerdoodle with a fluffy, creamy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States