Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good, more like a muffin consistancy than a cake, but excellent. Would make a good coffee cake maybe? My 2 little neices CHOWED on this, and hubby really liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
For those w/ dairy allergies: use of soy milk instead of reg milk works very well, tastes like the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made this several times and I think I have perfected it. Not so much for the Snickerdoodle taste but perfected it more for a coffee cake / cinnabon taste. I used 1c white and 1c brown sugar instead of just white. I used margarine instead of shortening. Also, I added 1 box instant vanilla pudding. I increased the cinnamon to 3 teaspoons. I also made a mixture of 1C brown sugar, 2 t cinnamon, 1/2 t vanilla, and 2 T margarine. Mixed this an plopped by spoon fulls over cake in pan. Then ran a knife to create a marbalized effect. Then sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar over top and baked @350 x 32min. When cool, I drizzled some white icing overtop. YUMMM!! Taste more like a cinnabon but so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I bake all the time, and I love snickerdoodles. That being said, this was dry and tasteless. I made the cake exactly as stated and we didn't like it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Just finished baking this. Am pretty excited to eat this... followed the directions completely, except for the topping, I felt like I was putting A LOT of sugar and cinnamon on top, upon looking at the cake, I wish I used it all. It look interesting though. yum, yum, can't wait to hear the ruling from my roommate and boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great! Made it for a special lunch dessert, put lots of cinnamon sugar on the top, some cinnamon in the batter, and it was just delicious. Soft and yummy! I halved the batter, baked it in a brownie tin, and it made plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It was a lot like coffee cake. It was very good. I frosted it using Caramel Frosting IV and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Yummy recipe! Easy and turns out wonderfully moist and delish - I subbed butter for the shortening. And added a good tsp of cinnamon to the batter (I am not sure I would've like it without!). Also, I spread half the batter into the pan, then sprinkled half the cinnamon/sugar mixture over it, followed by the rest of the batter. You couldn't really see the layer (probably have to use a lot more cinn/sugar) but I appreciated the taste it added. --To make a little more enticing, I made a cream cheese/powdered sugar/milk glaze to the top of each piece. But it's perfectly tasty without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This cake was good. A basic white cake with cinnamon and sugar on the top. I'd definitely recommend reading through the reviews and adding some cinnamon, vanilla, extra topping layer, etc. to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was a simple recipe with delicious results. I took PP's advice and used butter instead of shortening, added a teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter, created a layer of cinnamon sugar halfway through cake and drizzled with a half cup of melted butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States