Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My grandson LOVES Snickerdoodle Cookies. He asked me if I could bake him Snickerdoodle Cupcakes for Christmas. I found this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. I substituted butter for the shortening and increaed the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons. He gave it a THUMBS UP! So, I will make it again. NOTE: Any recipe I cook which calls for milk, I substitute Lactose Free Whole Milk. It made NO difference in the outcome of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I prefer the cookie much better than the cake. My husband kept asking me to find a snickerdoodle cake recipe and I gave this one a try. We both said that it needed some kind of frosting. Tomorrow I'll add a little frosting to improve our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Brena
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Thank you Katee2, naples 34102, and Sarah Jo! I modified the recipe slightly (as naples 34102 suggested) by using butter instead of shortening, adding vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. I halved the recipe and the batter made nine cupcakes. I cooked at 325 degrees (thank you Sarah Jo) for 20 minutes. I also added a little sugar and cinnamon on top before baking. I finalized it with a maple cream cheese frosting. Yum!! I am SO happy I found this recipe. It will be my go-to recipe for snickerdoodle cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Good but I didn't think it tasted like the cookie. A very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was great as written. But, I will change next time and use all butter instead of shortening and maybe figure out how to make it moister. But this was amazing and I will make regularly. Much easier than cookies with the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made a couple small adjustments. I used one stick of softened margerine instead of shortening (I don't keep shortening on hand outside of the holidays) and I took naples34102's advice and added a teaspoon each of vanilla extract and ground cinnamon to the actual cake batter, BUT I still added the cinnamon/sugar mixture on the top. Those were very minimal changes, I followed the recipe exact aside from those. It's in the oven now--we haven't tasted it yet but so far, it looks and smells amazing. I'll update my review once we've had a chance to try it. EDITED: I baked mine in a dark cake pan at 350* for just under thirty minutes. After it cooled, I found the edges and bottom were tough and seemed to be overdone. That aside, the cake flavor was spot on and it looked gorgeous from the top. I'm trying to save the cake now with a vanilla glaze, but next time, I think my mistake might have been using margerine (higher water content?) and baking it in a dark pan. I will try this again but I'll use butter and bake it in my glass baking dish. I'll update my review once I've had a chance to try it again and know it was something I did. EDITED AGAIN: Now that I know I'm supposed to reduce the oven's heat 25 degrees when using a dark baking pan, I'll do this next time I make this cake. And I will make it again. It's fabulous--I just fudged it up when I baked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was a hit at the party:) I just randomly decided to make and take these along with 2 other kinds to a party and these went the best...i made them into cupcakes ..they were done after about 20 mins....i did put the topping on top and then just took a toothpick and kinda just mixed it into the top..then i topped them with a buttercream icing that i added cinnamon too..:)Lots of people asked for the recipe and i refered them to this amazing site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by efuagwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This cake was delish! I did make a few additions - some cinnamon and vanilla to the batter. I also tossed in a bag of cinnamon chips, as I have a bunch and figured it'd be a good way to use them up. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Pretty darn good...really does taste like a snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Easy and didn't have to go to the grocery before cooking! Always a perk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States