Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jharmon27
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very moist and flavorful. I did add about a cup of Pumpkin because it just sounded good! And it was! Next time I would add some of the sugar/cinnamon topping to the cake mix as well. I think it would also be good with a light cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Pretty yummy! It's more of a pound cake or breakfast kind of cake because it is dense and forms a crust on top rather than being delicate and fluffy. You definitely need to add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon into the cake batter as well. I make a cinnamon buttercream frosting which was yummy but kind of the wrong pairing. What I will do next time is make this in a loaf pan which is is the more appropriate than cupcakes as I did, and heavily glaze it with a basic glaze with cinnamon added. This way, the thinner glaze will seep in and make it yummy. Then it will be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Just made it and it was fantastic after tweeking it a little of course.I used butter instead of shortening. Ialso added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cream of tartar ( like the cookie has in the recipe-makes the authentic taste) to the batter. Then I doubled the sugar and cinnamon and did half batter, half the cinnamon and sugar then rest of the batter. Then I swirled it like you would for a marble cake. Then the other half of the sugar and cinnamon I added 1 Tbls flour, 2 Tbls brown sugar and then cut 2 Tbls room temperature butter and cut it in to resemble crumbles. I scattered this on top and baked at directed. OMG! It's half gone already!!! Easier than making cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Cordone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My grandsons and I made this as cupcakes. It was a hit and we'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Very yummy and light and fluffy! Great cake for any cinnamon and sugar lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I wish there were a way to add comments w/o rating. I don't think it's fair for me to rate this since I did the changes noted by many reviewers and was not happy with the outcome (should get only 3 stars max with changes). However, I wanted to reiterate what one reviewer mentioned about dryness and cooking time. Start checking this cake very early and go by your toothpick test and NOT the color. This is a very easy cake to overcook. Mine should not have been overdone based on the cooking time, yet it was so dry that between that and the so-so taste, I am not inspired to try it again. It rose nicely and looked great, but was not moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made these into cupcakes and topped with buttercream icing with a little cinnamon sugar mixed in. Let me just say..one of the best cupcakes ever! I couldn't stop eating them, ate four in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
BEST CAKE EVER. Added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tarter, substituted butter instead of shortening and added the cinnamon right into the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Awesome! I made cupcakes out of the recipe for my Snickerdoodle-loving MIL's birthday and she loved them! The cake was light and fluffy and the tops were perfectly crisp, just like the cookies. Topped with a simple buttercream and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Yum! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE THESE!!!!! I made a couple of minor changes, I used margarine instead of shortning (because I can't find shortning here in Spain) and I added 1 tsp each of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter as other reviewers suggested. Will make this again and again and again. . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States