Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Pretty yummy! It's more of a pound cake or breakfast kind of cake because it is dense and forms a crust on top rather than being delicate and fluffy. You definitely need to add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon into the cake batter as well. I make a cinnamon buttercream frosting which was yummy but kind of the wrong pairing. What I will do next time is make this in a loaf pan which is is the more appropriate than cupcakes as I did, and heavily glaze it with a basic glaze with cinnamon added. This way, the thinner glaze will seep in and make it yummy. Then it will be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Just made it and it was fantastic after tweeking it a little of course.I used butter instead of shortening. Ialso added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cream of tartar ( like the cookie has in the recipe-makes the authentic taste) to the batter. Then I doubled the sugar and cinnamon and did half batter, half the cinnamon and sugar then rest of the batter. Then I swirled it like you would for a marble cake. Then the other half of the sugar and cinnamon I added 1 Tbls flour, 2 Tbls brown sugar and then cut 2 Tbls room temperature butter and cut it in to resemble crumbles. I scattered this on top and baked at directed. OMG! It's half gone already!!! Easier than making cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Cordone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My grandsons and I made this as cupcakes. It was a hit and we'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Very yummy and light and fluffy! Great cake for any cinnamon and sugar lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I wish there were a way to add comments w/o rating. I don't think it's fair for me to rate this since I did the changes noted by many reviewers and was not happy with the outcome (should get only 3 stars max with changes). However, I wanted to reiterate what one reviewer mentioned about dryness and cooking time. Start checking this cake very early and go by your toothpick test and NOT the color. This is a very easy cake to overcook. Mine should not have been overdone based on the cooking time, yet it was so dry that between that and the so-so taste, I am not inspired to try it again. It rose nicely and looked great, but was not moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made these into cupcakes and topped with buttercream icing with a little cinnamon sugar mixed in. Let me just say..one of the best cupcakes ever! I couldn't stop eating them, ate four in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
BEST CAKE EVER. Added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tarter, substituted butter instead of shortening and added the cinnamon right into the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Awesome! I made cupcakes out of the recipe for my Snickerdoodle-loving MIL's birthday and she loved them! The cake was light and fluffy and the tops were perfectly crisp, just like the cookies. Topped with a simple buttercream and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Yum! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE THESE!!!!! I made a couple of minor changes, I used margarine instead of shortning (because I can't find shortning here in Spain) and I added 1 tsp each of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter as other reviewers suggested. Will make this again and again and again. . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
AMAZING isn't the word for this cake ADDICTING is more like it Snickerdoodles are my daughters favorite cookie so when I came across this recipe I decided to try it but adding a layer of cinnamon/sugar between layers of batter 1tsp of vanilla in the batter and using the streusel topping & melted butter as suggested by different reviews we had it gone in 1 night it had a crispy top & moist cake ummmmmm!! I recommend this recipe to anyone, this recipe will be a keeper in our house from now on!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States