Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
As everything does, this has pros and cons. Its better than anything!! I used it for multiple things and events. I am glad the world has chefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
this is an excellent tasting coffee cake! I followed the suggestions of a few other reviewers and doubled the cinnamon/sugar mixture adding half to the middle of the cake batter. I also added a tsp. vanilla and a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for more flavor. I also poured 6 Tbl. of melted butter over it immediately after removing from the oven. I think next time I will also add a tsp. of cream of tartar since snickerdoodle cookies contain that ingredient. This is a perfect cake to share with a friend while catching up on each other's lives over tea. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This tastes just like a snickerdoodle cookie! I, too, added 1/2 t of cinnamon and vanilla extract to the batter. Glad I did, since I made buttercream frosting to go with this, not the sugar-cinnamon topping. Also, made cupcakes: 350 degrees for 19 minutes and 15 minutes for mini cupcakes. Thanks for the recipe! Update: I used Buttercream Frosting II from this site and followed it to the letter, but added 1 t of cinnamon. Wow! Made this cupcake stand out even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is exactly what the name says it is: a cake that tastes like a snickerdoodle cookie. The texture is a bit more crumbly than normal cake; it is also denser and a bit drier. It was an interesting recipe-the kids loved it with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Everyone loved this cake. I sprinkled some cinnamon & a little vanilla extract into the batter. Doubled the cinnamon & sugar for the top but put 1/2 the batter in the pan, sprinkled 1/2 the cinnamon-sugar mixture on and put the rest of the batter in the pan sprinkling the rest of the cinn.-sugar mixture on top. Made a Cinnamon Cream Cheese frosting which was very good but a little to sweet for me. Next time I will try a glaze or a frosting that isn't so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was so good. I used margarine instead of shortening and it turned out fine. Some of the sugar and cinnamon mixture on top caramelized and gave it a nice crunch. The inside was soft and moist but the edges were crunchy. I baked it for the full 40 minutes in an 8x8 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
If you're craving that snickerdoodle taste without having the time to make cookies, then this is the recipe for you! This is so easy and quick to make - I think from the time I started until I got it in the oven was maybe 15 minutes. The only thing I changed was I added 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the dry ingredients because my cookie recipe calls for that, and in my opinion it's what makes that cookie 'special'. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and it turned out great. A word of caution, make sure you start checking your cake before the 35 minutes is up. Mine was done at about 30 minutes, and I probably could have taken it out of the oven a couple of minutes before that even if I had checked it sooner. This had a nice, slightly crunchy topping, and a fluffy, sweet middle. So good! I know I will be making this one again for sure since it's so incredibly easy and uses ingredients that I always have around the house. Thanks for the recipe, Katee2! Okay, so now that I'm done writing out my review, I gotta go get another piece...it is really that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I followed recipe exactly. Easier and tastier than a box cake! I do recommend doubling the topping. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very nice recipe, and it does taste like a snickerdoodle! I did find that adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the batter helped the flavor. I used butter instead of shortening (I never have shortening) and I really enjoyed the end product. 35 minutes at 350 was perfect for my oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very moist and flavorful. I did add about a cup of Pumpkin because it just sounded good! And it was! Next time I would add some of the sugar/cinnamon topping to the cake mix as well. I think it would also be good with a light cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States