Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Looking over the recipe and judging from other reviews it was apparent this cake needed "something." I made half a recipe in an 8x8" pan and rather than use the sugar/cinnamon topping, I added a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. It turned out to be not as tall a cake as I would have liked, but it was fragrant with the vanilla and cinnamon and simply delcious topped with a fluffy buttercream and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon. And sure enough, it does taste like a Snickerdoodle - a moist Snickerdoodle with a fluffy, creamy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very good! I also added a layer of the sugar and cinnamon to the middle of the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
it was good gave it 5 star because it was different and good for a quick cake and basic without having to go out for ingrediants. I read reviews and i actually added extra sugar to the batter and then did the layer thing like other review, with the butter,sugar and cinnamon..it was sweet enough to not have the powdered sugar glaze...it took care of my sugar crave for the eve..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Good cake...in my opinion it was kind of bland...would be much better with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frogs&Fairytales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This cake was great! it was moist and the outside was nice and crunchy. I did add 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the batter and doubled the cin/sug and with the sugar mix I spread half of the batter in the cake pan then sprinkled it with the mix, then added in the rest of the batter and sprinkled it with the leftover sugar. On each serving I added a spoonfull of melted butter to the top as well as a drizzleing of powdered sugar glaze. Thanks for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This cake was delicious. I added one tablespoon of cinnamon and one teaspoon of vanilla to the batter and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I found the cake quite bland, even after adding 1 1/2 t cinnamon to the batter. The cake itself was quite solid, not in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I just made this tasty cake for my husband(we both love the cookies). Mine came out more like a brownie texture but thats probably my fault. I tried something different and sifted the flour(I heard it adds fluff)I also used butter instead of shortening and buttermilk instead of milk.It was still great. And I will make it again...less the fluff part. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was an easy and very good recipe. Will make again. Next time we'll do as others and add cinnamon and sugar mixed in the middle of batter for a flavorful layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States