Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! I made it last night and added one vanilla Jello pudding cup to make it moister and it turned out great, and really does taste like a Snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a fabulous and easy recipe! Amazing how much it really does taste like a Snickerdoodle! We made them into Cupcakes (myself and 3 children, ages 7, 11, 13). Like others, we used butter instead of shortening, and added 1tsp. of Vanilla and also added 1/2 - 1tsp of Cinnamon to the batter. The batter is pretty dense when mixed, but it doesn't bake dense at all. We baked it for 25 minutes for the cupcakes, was absolutely perfect amount of time. I made them again the next night, and also made mini cupcakes, 20 minutes was perfect for those. We topped them with a light Cinnamon Butter cream Frosting, which added that extra taste of cinnamon. The 2nd day I made them, I took them into work, and everyone was raving over them! (one person went back 4 times throughout the day!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
It's great straight out of the oven. But every day longer that it's leftover it just doesn't taste quite as good. It dries out quite quickly. Since there is only 2 of us in the house makes it hard to make it and eat it before it needs to be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made this cake and it was so good but I think some apple in it would make it great. My dad, two older brother, and I loved it. I will have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Soo good! I made a couple of tweeks based upon previous reviews. I used applesauce in place of the shortening, put in a dash of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter, and did a drizzling of the sugar/cinnamon halfway through the batter and then melted 1/4 cup of butter and mixed in some cinnamon & sugar and drizzled that over the very top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnsmith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome cake! Took it to a cook out and it was gone within minutes! I did use butter flavored shortening as some others had recommmended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Everyone at worked loved this! The melted butter on top is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Followed the recipe to a T except that I substituted butter for the shortening. I did add a buttercream (with a small amount of cinnamon added) to the top. I honestly can't imagine this without frosting. Cake was moist and flavorful and not dense. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
After looking at the other reviews, I added a teaspoon of vanilla, cream of tartar, and cinnamon. After sprinkling the cinnamon sugar mixture on top, I swirled it in with a knife. Tastes just like a snickerdoodle with an amazing crispy top. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
My guys really loved these. They said it was better than a snickerdoodle cookie! The recipe really makes 24 so don't overload the cupcake papers if you are making cupcakes...said the lady with the top-heavy cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States